POLL: The best co-driver in V8 Supercars

Bathurst is the ultimate test of a co-driver's mettle

Bathurst is the ultimate test of a co-driver’s mettle

Last week saw the 28th and final co-driver named for the V8 Supercars Championship’s inaugural Pirtek Enduro Cup.

Following the removal of the international driver format from the Armor All Gold Coast 600, this year will see the 28 full-time drivers each keep their Sandown and Bathurst partners for all three events for the first time.

Just nine pairings remain in place from Bathurst 2012, although perhaps crucially, they include all three of last year’s podium place getters; Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell, David Reynolds/Dean Canto and Craig Lowndes/Warren Luff.

Of the new pairings, most notable are the destinations of last year’s full-timers Steve Owen (with Will Davison/FPR), Greg Murphy (with James Courtney/HRT), Karl Reindler (with Rick Kelly/Nissan) and Steve Johnson (with Maro Engel/Erebus).

While the primary driver, team and equipment will all play their role in determining which co-drivers stand atop the podium at Sandown, Bathurst and the Gold Coast, this week’s Pirtek Poll allows you to have your say on which co-driver you think is the pick of the bunch.

Available co-drivers will get third Friday practice opportunity of the year this weekend at Winton; the location of the final sprint event before the enduros.

See below for a snapshot of the co-driver class for 2013

16 former full-time drivers: Paul Dumbrell, Craig Baird, Steve Richards, Steve Owen, Andrew Jones, Steven Johnson, Karl Reindler, Greg Murphy, Jack Perkins, Greg Ritter, Daniel Gaunt, Andrew Thompson, Dean Canto, Paul Morris, Taz Douglas, Warren Luff

9 current full-time Dunlop Series drivers: Steve Owen, Andrew Jones, Dale Wood, Ashley Walsh, Chris Pither, Jack Perkins, Daniel Gaunt, Paul Morris, Taz Douglas

9 currently without full-time drives in any category: Paul Dumbrell, Jonny Reid, David Russell, Steven Johnson, Luke Youlden, Greg Ritter, Andrew Thompson, Dean Canto, Ryan Briscoe.

5 internationally based drivers: John McIntyre, Marc Lieb, Ryan Briscoe, Matthew Halliday, Jeroen Bleekemolen

4 current full-time Carrera Cup drivers: Nick Percat, Craig Baird, Steven Richards, Warren Luff

4 former Bathurst 1000 winners: Paul Dumbrell, Nick Percat, Steven Richards, Greg Murphy

4 different nationalities: Australian, New Zealander, Dutch, German

3 Bathurst 1000 rookies: Ashley Walsh, Marc Lieb, Jeroen Bleekemolen

Comments are closed.