Marquez shatters record for Indy pole

Marc Marquez

Marc Marquez

Marc Marquez is poised to extend his MotoGP championship lead on Sunday after shattering the Indianapolis Motor Speedway lap record to grab pole in qualifying.

The Honda rider, who has won at the famous American circuit for the last two years in previous categories, continued to show his impressive pace at the venue by dominating qualifying.

The Spaniard was a full half a second quicker than title rival Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo as he set a 1 minute 37.958s time, which shattered Dani Pedrosa’s lap record from last year.

Pedrosa completed the front row in third ahead of Tech 3 Yamaha’s Cal Crutchlow. Only 17 thousandths of a second separated second to fourth positions in what was to prove a tight qualifying session behind Marquez.

Alvaro Bautista was a surprise fifth ahead of local rider Nicky Hayden making his last MotoGP appearance at Indianapolis.

Monster Yamaha’s Bradley Smith and Stefan Bradl, who has just extended his contract with LCR Honda, were seventh and eighth ahead of a frustrated Valentino Rossi.

Rossi has been struggling with his Yamaha throughout the weekend with turn in issues which has left him almost 1.4 seconds adrift of Marquez. Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso rounded out the top 10.

Pramac Ducati rider Ben Spies endured a horror return to the championship this weekend. The local rider dislocated his shoulder in final practice and will not take part in the race.

Australia’s Bryan Staring showed glimpses of pace as he secured 20th on the grid with his CRT Gresini Honda.

See below for the full qualifying result

1 Marc Marquez Honda 1m37.958s
2 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1m38.471s 0.513s
3 Dani Pedrosa Honda 1m38.485s 0.527s
4 Cal Crutchlow Tech 3 Yamaha 1m38.502s 0.544s
5 Alvaro Bautista Gresini Honda 1m38.872s 0.914s
6 Nicky Hayden Ducati 1m39.142s 1.184s
7 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 1m39.255s 1.297s
8 Stefan Bradl LCR Honda 1m39.313s 1.355s
9 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1m39.356s 1.398s
10 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1m39.555s 1.597s
11 Andrea Iannone Pramac Ducati 1m40.042s 2.084s
12 Colin Edwards Forward FTR-Kawasaki 1m40.372s 2.414s
13 Aleix Espargaro Aspar Aprilia 1m40.444s Q1
14 Danilo Petrucci Ioda-Suter-BMW 1m41.122s Q1
15 Randy de Puniet Aspar Aprilia 1m41.154s Q1
16 Claudio Corti Forward FTR-Kawasaki 1m41.334s Q1
17 Hector Barbera Avintia FTR-Kawasaki 1m41.527s Q1
18 Michael Laverty PBM-Aprilia 1m41.618s Q1
19 Hiroshi Aoyama Avintia FTR-Kawasaki 1m41.665s Q1
20 Bryan Staring Gresini FTR-Honda 1m41.786s Q1
21 Yonny Hernandez PBM Aprilia 1m41.807s Q1
22 Lukas Pesek Ioda-Suter-BMW 1m41.868s Q1
23 Karel Abraham Cardion Aprilia 1m42.165s Q1
24 Blake Young Attack APR-Kawasaki 1m44.472s Q1


Comments are closed.