BJR confirms Pither/Wall endurance combination

Pither at the wheel of the #21 Holden at Queensland Raceway

Pither at the wheel of the #21 Holden at Queensland Raceway

Brad Jones Racing has confirmed that Chris Pither will co-drive with David Wall in this year’s V8 Supercars endurance races.

Pither was part of BJR’s 2012 endurance line-up and rejoins the squad following the tragic death of the originally appointed driver, Allan Simonsen, at Le Mans in June.

The 26-year-old Pither is a regular in BJR’s Dunlop Series outfit and has steered Wall’s Wilson Security-backed Holden during the recent co-driver practice sessions at Townsville and Queensland Raceway.

“It’s great to be doing it for a second year back-to-back and gain some momentum. I’ll be a lot more confident going into this year,” said Pither, having helped Wall to a solid 14th place result at Bathurst last year.

“I’ve done the two co-driver sessions at Townsville and Queensland Raceway, which gives you a taste of the car.

“Although it wasn’t a whole lot of laps it was a great chance to get a taste of the Car of the Future.

Chris Pither

Chris Pither

“The Car of the Future is a lot more like a race car to drive than the old V8s. They feel like they do everything a bit better with the main thing being the change of direction.

“They’re a lot more flowing so it’s more like a real race car would feel and braking is another main difference.”

Prior to 2012, Pither’s only Bathurst start had come in 2008, where he was involved in a heavy practice crash with Paul Weel.

Pither was scheduled to cut more laps in Wall’s car at a test day on Tuesday, but those plans have been postponed until later this month due to weather.

BJR’s announcement leaves just one seat in the 2013 Pirtek Enduro Cup left unconfirmed.

Dean Fiore’s partner at Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport’s remains unknown, with Kiwi international Matthew Halliday heavily favoured to pick up the drive.

The drivers for Triple Eight’s Bathurst-only Wildcard entry are also yet to be revealed.

See below for the updated Pirtek Enduro Cup co-driver list

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF
2 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF
3 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Jonny Reid Holden Commodore VF
4 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Craig Baird Mercedes E63 AMG
5 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Steve Richards Ford Falcon FG
6 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG
7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly David Russell Nissan Altima
8 Team BOC Jason Bright Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF
9 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Steven Johnson Mercedes E63 AMG
12 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG
14 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Luke Youlden Holden Commodore VF
15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Karl Reindler Nissan Altima
17 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG
18 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison John McIntyre Ford Falcon FG
19 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Marc Lieb Holden Commodore VF
21 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Chris Pither Holden Commodore VF
22 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VF
33 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF
34 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Greg Ritter Holden Commodore VF
36 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Daniel Gaunt Nissan Altima
47 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing Tim Slade Andrew Thompson Mercedes E63 AMG
55 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG
66 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Ryan Briscoe Holden Commodore VF
80 ekol Racing Scott Pye Paul Morris Holden Commodore VF
88 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore TBA Holden Commodore VF
97 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Jeroen Bleekemolen Holden Commodore VF
360 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Taz Douglas Nissan Altima
888 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Warren Luff Holden Commodore VF

Comments are closed.