Simpson wins, veterans collide in Kumho opener

Ryan Simpson led from start to finish in Race 1

Ryan Simpson led from start to finish in Race 1

Ryan Simpson took a comfortable victory in Race 1 of Round 4 for the Kumho V8 Touring Car Series at Queensland Raceway.

The Sonic Motor Racing Services Ford driver led the field away from pole position and was never headed over the 12 lap journey.

MW Motorsport duo Margan Haber and Matthew White completed the top three having both made it around a fast-starting Shae Davies.

Fourth place was enough for Davies to extend his points lead thanks to an early collision between his two closest title rivals Terry Wyhoon and Tony Evangelou.

Wyhoon had been running in 10th behind Evangelou and Jim Pollicina when he lost control of his Ford under brakes into Turn 3, sliding into his two rivals.

Wyhoon and Pollicina were both forced to retire due to resulting front-end damage, while Evangelou limped home 17th after a pitstop.

Stewards later handed Wyhoon a 10 point penalty for his mistake.

Further up the road, Nathan Assaillit held his strong fifth-place starting position throughout the race, while Matthew Hansen and Steve Briffa were the first Holden drivers home in sixth and seventh respectively.

Dan Day, Matt Chada and debutant Jordan Skinner completed the top 10.

A further two races will complete Round 4 of the Kumho V8 Touring Car Series on Sunday.

Comments are closed.