Winslow secures Asian Le Mans Series drive

KCMG competed at the Le Mans 24 Hours earlier this year

KCMG competed at the Le Mans 24 Hours earlier this year

Reigning Australian Formula 3 champion James Winslow will drive in the inaugural Asian Le Mans Series event this weekend after agreeing a deal with Hong Kong team KCMG.

The Brit, who stormed to the 2012 Australian Formula 3 title, will join Ireland’s European F3 driver Gary Thompson and 16-year-old Malaysian Formula Masters China racer Akash Nandy behind the wheel of KCMG’s Morgan-Nissan LMP2 machine at South Korea’s Inje Speedium circuit at the weekend.

A move to the LMP2 category in the Asian Le Mans Series represents a chance for the former Indy Lights and Asian F3 champion Englishman to secure a coveted seat at 2014 Le Mans 24 Hours.

KCMG competed at this year’s Le Mans 24 Hours with Alexandre Imperatori, Matt Howson and Ho Pin Tung briefly leading the LMP2 class before retiring after completing 246 laps. The team also fields cars in the Super Formula, Chinese Touring Car Championship and Japanese F3.

“I was at the Le Mans 24 hour this year and was very impressed to see them (KCMG) leading the race in only their first year as an LMP2 team.

“I first met team owner Paul Ip and members of his KCMG team back in 2006 when I raced in Formula 3 and I’m very proud to be joining these guys again.”

The creation of the Asian Le Mans Series is the latest initiative from Le Mans 24 Hours organisers Automobile Club de l’Oest (ACO).

The new four race series will follow the format of the European Le Mans Series with teams competing in LMP2, LMPC, GTC and GT Am categories. LMP2 and GTC victors will receive entry to the 2014 Le Mans 24 Hours.

Since securing his second F3 title in Australia, the has been plying is trade in the Australian GT Championship driving the Skwirk Audi R8 with Rod Salmon among development work with Radical Sportscars.

The Asian Le Mans will also visit Japan’s Fuji Speedway (September 22) before trips to China’s Zhu International circuit (October 13) and the final round at Indonesia’s Sentul Circuit (December 8).

AGTC squad Erebus Motorsport is being tipped to join the series later in the year with its pairs of Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3s.

Comments are closed.