Stewards hand down Ipswich points penalties

Pye was involved in a first corner Race 24 incident, and later lost further time with this off at Turn 3

Pye was involved in a first corner Race 24 incident, and later lost further time with this off at Turn 3

V8 Supercars Championship driver Scott Pye and three Dunlop Series pilots have been levied points penalties following the Coates Hire Ipswich 360.

Pye has been relieved of 25 points after admitting to careless driving in a first corner Race 24 clash that saw an attempted inside passing move on Alexandre Premat end in disaster.

The two Holdens made contact, sending the Frenchman into the path of an innocent Russell Ingall.

Ingall was forced into retirement due to the resulting damage, while Premat pitted before reemerging for 26th.

Pye finished 19th and remains 26th in the points standings after the penalty.

In the Dunlop Series, Ford drivers Nick McBride, Michael Hector and Taz Douglas all copped the wrath of the stewards for incidents in Sunday morning’s second race of the weekend.

McBride lost 25 points after a tap on Rodney Jane that sent both Falcons into the gravel at Turn 2.

Lesser 15 point reprimands were given to Hector for his hit on Garry Jacobson at Turn 5, and to Douglas for his hip-and-shoulder on Andrew Jones at Turn 3.

Incidents between Jim Pollicina and Nick McBride at Turn 3 and Ash Walsh and Taz Douglas at Turn 2 in the final race will be reviewed prior to the next event at Winton.

The Dunlop Series is being led by MW Motorsport’s Dale Wood after Queensland Raceway, while Jamie Whincup remains in command of the V8 Supercars Championship.

See below for the updated Dunlop Series points standings

1 Dale Wood 1036
2 Ashley Walsh 908
3 Daniel Gaunt 818
4 Andrew Jones 741
5 George Miedecke 705
6 Aaren Russell 683
7 Kristian Lindbom 650
8 Steve Owen 640
9 Jack Perkins 622
10 Taz Douglas 590
11 Drew Russell 571
12 Paul Morris 522
13 Cameron Waters 475
14 Gary Jacobson 450
15 Geoff Emery 427
16 Casey Stoner 405
17 Andre Heimgartner 404
18 Rodney Jane 390
19 Marcus Zukanovic 386
20 Morgan Haber 368
21 Chris Pither 363
22 Nick McBride 340
23 Josh Hunter 330
24 Sam Walter 317
25 Chaz Mostert 288
26 Michael Hector 261
27 Brett Stewart 253
28 Aaron McGill 230
29 Jim Pollicina 211
30 Adam Wallis 165
31 Nandi Kiss 124
32 Jay Verdnik 117
33 Aaron Tebb 114
34 Justin Garioch 84
35 Chris Alajajian 81


Comments are closed.