Mostert and DJR win Ipswich finale

Sunday 28th July, 2013 - 5:10pm


Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert

Rookie driver Chaz Mostert has taken Dick Johnson Racing to its first win in three years during a dramatic Race 24 at Queensland Raceway.

Mostert cruised home to record a two second victory over Will Davison, with Mark Winterbottom and David Reynolds making it a Ford sweep of the top four places.

Mostert is the 10th different winner of the 2013 season to date; the most of any year since 2008.

The 100km finale was rocked by a series of mid-race left-front tyre failures that claimed the hopes of Race 23 winner Scott McLaughlin.

The Fujitsu Racing GRM Holden driver had been hunting down Mostert when he was forced to pit for a new tyre.

Series leader Jamie Whincup, Holden Racing Team twins Garth Tander and James Courtney and FPR’s Alex Davison also suffered from the same fate.

Fabian Coulthard and Craig Lowndes recovered from poor qualifying performances to finish fifth and sixth respectively, while Jason Bright, Tim Slade, Rick Kelly and Todd Kelly completed the top 10.

Slade had been running second in the early stages before sliding off at Turn 3. The opening laps had been run with damp patches on the track following isolated showers during the afternoon.

An apparent engine failure for Tim Blanchard soon afterwards coated the Turn 3 entry with oil, sending several cars wide. Among those was Will Davison, who dropped position to McLaughlin in the process.

Russell Ingall joined Blanchard on the retirements list after finding himself a victim of a collision between Scott Pye and Alexandre Premat at Turn 1.

Despite his Race 24 disaster, Jamie Whincup continues to lead the series from team-mate Craig Lowndes.

See below for the full Race 24 result

1 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 32 38:01.95
2 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 32 38:03.96
3 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 32 38:05.95
4 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 32 38:09.56
5 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 32 38:09.93
6 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 32 38:10.35
7 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 32 38:16.94
8 Heavy Haulage Australia Racin Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 32 38:17.92
9 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 32 38:25.19
10 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 32 38:25.37
11 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 32 38:28.28
12 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 32 38:28.43
13 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 32 38:30.77
14 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 32 38:31.47
15 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 32 38:31.70
16 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 32 38:33.11
17 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 32 38:33.41
18 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 32 38:36.71
19 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 32 38:42.28
20 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 32 38:55.54
21 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 32 38:56.86
22 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 32 38:57.69
23 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 31 38:18.61
24 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 31 39:06.26
25 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 29 38:44.48
26 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 26 39:05.55
DNF Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 4 05:02.30
DNF Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF

See below for the updated points standings

1 Jamie Whincup 1803
2 Craig Lowndes 1674
3 Will Davison 1592
4 Mark Winterbottom 1561
5 Fabian Coulthard 1493
6 Jason Bright 1471
7 Shane Van Gisbergen 1440
8 Garth Tander 1438
9 James Courtney 1427
10 Jonathon Webb 1204
11 Scott McLaughlin 1188
12 David Reynolds 1038
13 Rick Kelly 1033
14 Alex Davison 960
15 James Moffat 947
16 Tony D’Alberto 859
17 Alexandre Premat 815
18 Russell Ingall 783
19 Chaz Mostert 724
20 Dean Fiore 724
21 Tim Slade 723
22 Michael Caruso 717
23 David Wall 675
24 Todd Kelly 650
25 Tim Blanchard 603
26 Scott Pye 588
27 Lee Holdsworth 557
28 Maro Engel 474
29 Jonny Reid 149 comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!