Wood wins as disaster strikes Stoner again

Wood was chased all the way to the flag by Perkins

Wood was chased all the way to the flag by Perkins

Dale Wood extended his lead in the Dunlop Series by holding out a determined Jack Perkins in Race 1 of the weekend at Queensland Raceway.

The MW Motorsport Ford driver made the most of his career first pole position, beating fellow front-row starter Perkins to the first corner.

Perkins kept Wood in his sights for the entire 14 lap journey, setting the fastest lap of the race in the closing stages before crossing the line just 0.4s adrift.

Steve Owen, Ashley Walsh, Daniel Gaunt and Taz Douglas completed the top six after a stagnant race at the front.

Andrew Jones charged through from 15th on the grid to finish seventh ahead of Nick McBride, Drew Russell and Andre Heimgartner.

Sixth-place starter Casey Stoner saw his race fall apart on just the second lap; the Red Bull-Pirtek Holden tipped into a spin by Geoff Emery.

Falling to 29th, Stoner recovered to 17th by the flag, lapping within 0.1s of Perkins’ fastest time in the process.

Another in trouble early was series contender Kristian Lindbom, who found himself nudged wide by Stoner at the first corner.

The Evans Motorsport Ford suffered front-end damage during subsequent contact with Andre Heimgartner at Turn 2, eventually consigning Lindbom to the pitlane.

Morgan Haber and Josh Hunter were also on the retirements list after a multi-car incident at the end of the opening lap.

The collision was triggered when Hunter spun Gary Jacobson at Turn 6, resulting in a concertina that also involved George Miedecke and a luckless Haber.

Miedecke and Jacobson escaped the drama to finish 14th and 19th respectively. The latter was one place ahead of his team-mate Rodney Jane, who had been spun out of 13th place by Cameron Waters in the early stages.

Race 2 for the Dunlop Series will take place on Sunday morning and feature a reverse top 10 grid.

See below for the full Race 1 result

1 GB Galvanizing/MWM Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 16:51.16 01:11.58
2 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE 16:51.56 01:11.53*
3 Sherrin Rentals/MWM Steve Owen Ford Falson FG 16:53.66 01:11.60
4 Infants Friend Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 16:54.77 01:11.80
5 Marque Management Daniel Gaunt Holden Commodore VE2 16:55.47 01:11.55
6 Image Racing/Arvo Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 16:56.31 01:11.74
7 Advam Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 16:58.17 01:11.59
8 Tony D’Alberto Racing Nick McBride Ford Falcon FG 16:59.21 01:11.65
9 Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon FG 17:00.60 01:11.59
10 Finance Ezi Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 17:03.63 01:11.87
11 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 17:04.41 01:12.16
12 Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE2 17:07.81 01:11.78
13 CEG Rentals/Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 17:09.24 01:12.00
14 I Seek George Miedecke Ford Falcon FG 17:13.34 01:12.20
15 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 17:15.19 01:12.61
16 Blackchrome Sports & Workwear Sam Walter Holden Commodore VE2 17:15.53 01:12.47
17 Triple Eight Race Engineering Casey Stoner Holden Commodore VE2 17:19.20 01:11.58
18 Gulf Western Oil Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 17:22.59 01:12.95
19 Rodney Jane Racing/Sonic Gary Jacobson Ford Falcon FG 17:23.41 01:11.90
20 Rodney Jane Racing/Sonic Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 17:26.50 01:12.54
21 Poll Performance Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE 17:28.39 01:12.72
22 Rev Trans WA Aaron Tebb Holden Commodore VE2 17:29.10 01:13.43
23 Resi Home Loans Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 17:29.71 01:13.05
24 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 17:34.21 01:13.37
25 Warrin Mining Volvo Constructi Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE 17:37.27 01:13.09
26 Linde Material Handling/Enzed Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE2 17:37.56 01:12.06
27 Pacific Hoists – Hitachi Nandi Kiss Holden Commodore VE 17:41.19 01:13.81
28 R&J Batteries/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 17:35.58 01:11.93
DNF Ozstaff Racing Kristian Lindbom Ford Falcon FG 05:23.02 01:17.00
DNF MiraFlores Estate/MWM Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 01:30.95 01:30.95
DNF Finance Ezi Racing Josh Hunter Ford Falocon FG 01:41.25 01:41.25


Comments are closed.