Whincup proves too strong in Ipswich 60/60

The Race 22 podium

The Race 22 podium

Jamie Whincup proved the class of the field in both legs of the 60/60 Super Sprint at Queensland Raceway to extend his V8 Supercars Championship lead.

The pole-sitter led all 40 laps of the two-part race, controlling the gap to second-place Scott McLaughlin throughout.

Mark Winterbottom dropped from third to sixth on the opening lap of the first leg after a nudge from Craig Lowndes, but fought back to be third at the final chequered flag.

Lowndes finished on Winterbottom’s bumper in fourth while James Courtney, Will Davison, Jason Bright, Garth Tander, Alex Davison and James Moffat completed the top 10.

Fabian Coulthard was an even greater victim of the opening lap scramble that hindered Winterbottom, falling to a low of 16th before eventually finishing the opening leg 11th.

The Lockwood Holden driver found himself having to produce the same recovery performance from 16th to 11th in the second leg after being pushed wide during an early three-wide scrap with Alex Davison and Garth Tander.

The most entertaining battle of the day was that for the eventual 10th position as a struggling Shane van Gisbergen attempted to hold back a train that involved Chaz Mostert, James Moffat, Coulthard and the Nissans of Rick and Todd Kelly.

Todd Kelly is expected to be investigated for two incidents post-race after tangling with David Wall early in the second leg before wildly punting Mostert on the final lap.

Also in the wars were Lee Holdsworth and Michael Caruso, who clashed on the restart lap, and David Reynolds, who fell out of seventh on the penultimate lap with a deflated tyre.

Reynolds limped his Ford to the flag but was not classified as a finisher on the account of his final lap being too slow.

Maro Engel’s promising weekend fell apart with brake problems in the opening leg, but a between heat change saw him fight back to 19th in the final reckoning.

A pair of 100km races will complete the Coates Hire Ipswich 360 tomorrow.

See below for the full Race 22 resultĀ 

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 40 01:12:39.94
2 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 40 01:12:40.51
3 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 40 01:12:40.76
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 40 01:12:41.07
5 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 40 01:12:42.09
6 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 40 01:12:42.97
7 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 40 01:12:45.59
8 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 40 01:12:48.86
9 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 40 01:12:50.42
10 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 40 01:12:55.82
11 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 40 01:12:57.32
12 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 40 01:13:00.31
13 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 40 01:13:00.89
14 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 40 01:13:02.38
15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 40 01:13:03.33
16 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 40 01:13:03.87
17 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 40 01:13:03.94
18 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 40 01:13:04.89
19 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 40 01:13:06.64
20 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 40 01:13:07.09
21 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 40 01:13:07.40
22 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 40 01:13:09.06
23 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 40 01:13:11.34
24 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 39 01:13:09.85
25 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 38 01:13:24.77
26 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 38 01:13:45.57
DNF The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 39 01:12:43.32
DNF Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 21 50:21.37

See below for the updated championship points

1 Jamie Whincup 1691
2 Craig Lowndes 1560
3 Will Davison 1444
4 Mark Winterbottom 1423
5 Garth Tander 1362
6 Shane Van Gisbergen 1356
7 Fabian Coulthard 1339
8 Jason Bright 1333
9 James Courtney 1317
10 Jonathon Webb 1122
11 Scott McLaughlin 1058
12 Rick Kelly 949
13 David Reynolds 898
14 James Moffat 877
15 Alex Davison 870
16 Tony D’Alberto 781
17 Alexandre Premat 755
18 Russell Ingall 753
19 Dean Fiore 666
20 Michael Caruso 657
21 Tim Slade 619
22 David Wall 615
23 Todd Kelly 572
24 Tim Blanchard 571
25 Chaz Mostert 556
26 Scott Pye 536
27 Lee Holdsworth 523
28 Maro Engel 422
29 Jonny Reid 149


Comments are closed.