Whincup bounces back with Race 22 pole

Jamie Whincup secured his ninth pole of the season

Jamie Whincup secured his ninth pole of the season

Jamie Whincup has rebounded from his horror qualifying results in Townsville to score pole for the opening race of the 2013 Coates Hire Ipswich 360.

The Red Bull Racing Australia driver scored his ninth pole of the season in one of the tightest qualifying sessions on record.

Typically, Whincup scored the maximum result with the minimum of fuss, completing a conservative banker lap early before sitting in the pits waiting to undertake a final single-lap run.

The four-time champion’s lap of 1:09.27s proved just 0.05s shy of the qualifying record set by team-mate Craig Lowndes in 2012.

Second placed Scott McLaughlin fell just 0.03s short of Whincup’s time to score his second consecutive front-row start.

Fabian Coulthard made it a Holden clean sweep of the top positions, while Mark Winterbottom, James Courtney, Craig Lowndes, David Reynolds, Shane van Gisbergen, Tim Slade and Will Davison completed the top 10.

Jason Bright sat second ahead of the final green tyre runs but fell to 11th by the flag, albeit just 0.2s shy of Whincup’s pole time.

Just 0.8s separated the entire 28 car field, which was rounded out by the Nissan of Michael Caruso.

Fellow Altima driver Todd Kelly had been as high as fourth after an early final green tyre lap and will start from 14th.

Race 22 will take place over two 60km legs this afternoon.

See below for the full qualifying result

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 01:09.27
2 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 01:09.31 00:00.03
3 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 01:09.32 00:00.05
4 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 01:09.37 00:00.10
5 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 01:09.38 00:00.11
6 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 01:09.40 00:00.12
7 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 01:09.40 00:00.13
8 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 01:09.43 00:00.16
9 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 01:09.45 00:00.17
10 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 01:09.47 00:00.20
11 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 01:09.47 00:00.20
12 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 01:09.50 00:00.23
13 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 01:09.53 00:00.26
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 01:09.55 00:00.28
15 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 01:09.57 00:00.30
16 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 01:09.61 00:00.34
17 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 01:09.61 00:00.34
18 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 01:09.66 00:00.39
19 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 01:09.68 00:00.40
20 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 01:09.75 00:00.48
21 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 01:09.75 00:00.48
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 01:09.79 00:00.51
23 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 01:09.84 00:00.57
24 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 01:09.85 00:00.58
25 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 01:10.04 00:00.77
26 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 01:10.05 00:00.78
27 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 01:10.07 00:00.80
28 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 01:10.08 00:00.81


Comments are closed.