Three-way fight looms for V8 Supercars qualifying

Will Davison

Will Davison

Ford, Holden and Mercedes-Benz were all represented in the top three places in the final practice session ahead of qualifying for the Coates Hire Ipswich 360.

The Erebus Motorsport Mercedes team backed up its strong pace from Friday, with Tim Slade proving third fastest behind Ford Performance Racing’s Will Davison and Red Bull Racing Australia’s Jamie Whincup.

Davison recorded the fastest time of the 30 minute session with little over two minutes remaining; stopping the clocks at 1:09.29s.

That proved 0.13s clear of Whincup’s earlier best in a session that saw the fancied Ford and Holden entries show their hand following low-key Fridays.

Craig Lowndes also spent time at the top of the sheets late in the going before ending up fourth.

Lee Holdsworth was fifth in the second Mercedes ahead of Jason Bright, Maro Engel, Scott Mclaughlin, Shane van Gisbergen and David Reynolds.

The Nissans continued to struggle, with James Moffat the fastest Altima driver down in 16th.

Moffat’s team-mate Michael Caruso completed the field, with all 28 cars separated by a single second.

The V8 Supercars will return to the track for a single 20 minute qualifying session prior to Race 22 this afternoon.

See below for the full Practice 3 result

1 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 01:09.27
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 01:09.39 00:00.13
3 Heavy Haulage Australia Racin Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 01:09.47 00:00.21
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 01:09.49 00:00.22
5 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 01:09.57 00:00.30
6 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 01:09.57 00:00.30
7 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 01:09.59 00:00.32
8 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 01:09.60 00:00.33
9 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 01:09.66 00:00.39
10 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 01:09.69 00:00.42
11 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 01:09.70 00:00.43
12 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 01:09.77 00:00.50
13 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 01:09.88 00:00.61
14 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 01:09.93 00:00.66
15 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 01:09.94 00:00.67
16 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 01:09.95 00:00.68
17 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 01:09.97 00:00.70
18 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 01:09.98 00:00.71
19 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 01:09.98 00:00.71
20 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 01:09.98 00:00.71
21 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 01:10.01 00:00.74
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 01:10.02 00:00.75
23 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 01:10.05 00:00.78
24 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 01:10.13 00:00.86
25 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 01:10.14 00:00.87
26 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 01:10.17 00:00.90
27 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 01:10.24 00:00.97
28 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 01:10.27 00:01.01


Comments are closed.