Dale Wood scores maiden Dunlop Series pole

Dale Wood

Dale Wood

Dunlop Series leader Dale Wood will start the opening race of Round 4 at Queensland Raceway from pole position after edging out Jack Perkins in qualifying.

Perkins’ Eggleston Motorsport team-mate Daniel Gaunt set the pace for much of the 30 minute session, but was bumped to sixth after failing to improve in the late flurry.

Wood improved from second to first by setting what would prove to be the eventual pole time of 1:10.04s with just three minutes remaining.

The result marks the first pole position of Wood’s Dunlop Series career and extends MW Motosport’s unbeaten qualifying run in 2013.

Having been forced to abandon an earlier lap due to traffic, Perkins’ best proved just 0.02s shy of Wood, ensuring Holden’s leading light in the series a second front-row start in as many events.

Steve Owen, who had recorded pole at Barbagallo and Townsville, could manage just third this time and will share the second row with Ashley Walsh.

Taz Douglas, Daniel Gaunt, Casey Stoner, Nick McBride, Andre Heimgartner and Kristian Lindbom completed the top 10.

A single second covered the top 22 cars at the end of the 30 minutes, halving the margin from the corresponding session in 2012.

See below for the full qualifying result

1 GB Galvanizing/MWM Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 01:10.05
2 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE 01:10.06 00:00.02
3 Sherrin Rentals/MWM Steve Owen Ford Falson FG 01:10.21 00:00.17
4 Infants Friend Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 01:10.37 00:00.32
5 Image Racing/Arvo Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 01:10.38 00:00.33
6 Marque Management Daniel Gaunt Holden Commodore VE2 01:10.40 00:00.35
7 Triple Eight Race Engineering Casey Stoner Holden Commodore VE2 01:10.44 00:00.39
8 Tony D’Alberto Racing Nick McBride Ford Falcon FG 01:10.46 00:00.41
9 Finance Ezi Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 01:10.51 00:00.46
10 Ozstaff Racing Kristian Lindbom Ford Falcon FG 01:10.54 00:00.49
11 R&J Batteries/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 01:10.58 00:00.54
12 Finance Ezi Racing Josh Hunter Ford Falocon FG 01:10.60 00:00.55
13 Linde Material Handling/Enzed Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE2 01:10.61 00:00.56
14 Rodney Jane Racing/Sonic Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 01:10.65 00:00.60
15 Advam Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 01:10.69 00:00.64
16 Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE2 01:10.70 00:00.65
17 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 01:10.82 00:00.77
18 Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon FG 01:10.82 00:00.78
19 I Seek George Miedecke Ford Falcon FG 01:10.83 00:00.78
20 Rodney Jane Racing/Sonic Gary Jacobson Ford Falcon FG 01:10.84 00:00.79
21 CEG Rentals/Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 01:11.02 00:00.98
22 MiraFlores Estate/MWM Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 01:11.10 00:01.05
23 Blackchrome Sports & Workwear Sam Walter Holden Commodore VE2 01:11.33 00:01.28
24 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 01:11.56 00:01.51
25 Warrin Mining Volvo Constructi Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE 01:12.00 00:01.95
26 Poll Performance Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE 01:12.05 00:02.00
27 Gulf Western Oil Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 01:12.20 00:02.16
28 Rev Trans WA Aaron Tebb Holden Commodore VE2 01:12.61 00:02.57
29 Resi Home Loans Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 01:12.66 00:02.61
30 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 01:12.92 00:02.87
31 Pacific Hoists – Hitachi Nandi Kiss Holden Commodore VE 01:13.92 00:03.87


Comments are closed.