Winterbottom scores pole in interrupted qualifying

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom came out on top in a dramatic Race 21 qualifying session that was interrupted by a late red flag stoppage.

The Pepsi Max FPR Falcon driver had sat just 16th when the field filed out of pitlane for the final green tyre runs.

A red flag for a spring on the circuit dropped by the Walkinshaw Holden of Russell Ingall then set up a dramatic final few minutes.

Winterbottom needed just one flying lap however to throw down a time that would not be beaten.

Scott McLaughlin fell just 0.15s short and will start second, while David Reynolds and Garth Tander proved good enough to share the second row.

Craig Lowndes, Alex Davison, Tony D’Alberto and James Courtney filled fifth through eigth, while Will Davison, who had been fastest prior to the red flag, could not improve and was demoted to ninth.

Others in trouble included Jamie Whincup. The Red Bull Holden narrowly missed out on a second flying lap prior to the chequered flag and will start just 15th.

The team is also under investigation for an unsafe pit release following the resumption from the late stoppage.

Saturday stars Jason Bright and Shane van Gisbergen will start just 17th and 21st respectively after difficult sessions. The former had sat 10th prior to the red flag but could not improve thereafter.

The 200km Race 21 will get underway at 1535 local time.

See below for full Race 21 qualifying results

1 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford  Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:13.6159*
2 Fujitsu Racing GRM  Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 1:13.7692 0:00.1533
3 The Bottle-O FPR Ford  David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:13.9082 0:00.2923
4 Holden Racing Team  Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:13.9416 0:00.3257
5 Red Bull Racing Australia  Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:13.9575 0:00.3416
6 Jeld-wen FPR Ford  Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:13.9603 0:00.3444
7 Team HIFLEX  Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:14.0331 0:00.4172
8 Holden Racing Team  James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:14.0555 0:00.4396
9 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford  Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:14.0730 0:00.4571
10 Fujitsu Racing GRM  Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 1:14.0785 0:00.4626
11 Lockwood Racing  Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:14.1275 0:00.5116
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing  Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:14.3375 0:00.7216
13 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing  Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 1:14.3530 0:00.7371
14 Wilson Security Racing  Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 1:14.3695 0:00.7536
15 Red Bull Racing Australia  Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:14.3956 0:00.7797
16 Wilson Security Racing  David Wall Holden Commodore VF 1:14.4396 0:00.8237
17 Team BOC  Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:14.4544 0:00.8385
18 Tekno Autosports  Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:14.4661 0:00.8502
19 SP Tools Racing  Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 1:14.5263 0:00.9104
20 Irwin Racing  Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 1:14.5291 0:00.9132
21 TEKNO Team VIP  Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:14.5455 0:00.9296
22 Norton 360 Racing  James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:14.5844 0:00.9685
23 Norton 360 Racing  Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:14.5957 0:00.9798
24 Supercheap Auto Racing  Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:14.7625 0:01.1466
25 Dodo Insurance Racing  Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 1:14.7732 0:01.1573
26 ekol Racing  Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:14.8297 0:01.2138
27 Jack Daniel’s Racing  Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:15.1641 0:01.5482
28 Wilson Security Racing  Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 1:15.3053 0:01.6894


Comments are closed.