Morris wins sedate Dunlop Series Race 2

Paul Morris

Paul Morris

Paul Morris took a controlled victory in a surprisingly uneventful reverse top 10 grid Race 2 for the Dunlop Series in Townsville.

Following a wild opening race, Morris took the lead off the start of the second 14 lap encounter and controlled the gap back to second placed George Miedecke until the chequered flag.

Ash Walsh had been favoured to take the win after storming from the back of the Race 1 grid to secure the pole, but a poor start sent the Matt Stone Racing Ford back to 11th by Turn 1.

Walsh eventually finished seventh amidst a train of cars that had queued behind the third-placed Andrew Jones.

MW Motorsport team-mates Dale Wood and Steve Owen trailed Jones to the chequered flag in fourth and fifth respectively. The duo will start the final race, the grid for which is set by the combined Race 1 and 2 points, from the front-row with Owen on pole.

Kristian Lindbom narrowly held off Aaren Russell for sixth in Race 2, with just 0.06s separating the pair at the chequered flag.

Eggleston Motorsport team-mates Daniel Gaunt and Jack Perkins completed the top 10, with the latter having charged from 18th on the grid after being turned around in Race 1.

Another to charge was Casey Stoner, who gained 10 places from his 19th grid slot on the opening lap alone.

The going proved tougher from there however. Surviving a mid-race battle with Brett Stewart that eventually saw the West Australian’s Holden nudged off the circuit at Turn 8, Stoner finished 14th.

The third and final race of the weekend for the Dunlop Series is scheduled to commence at 1405 local time.

See below for full results for Dunlop Series Race 2

1  Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE2 17:51.0018  1:15.7492
2  I Seek George Miedecke Ford Falcon FG 17:51.9090  1:15.8238
3  Advam Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 17:54.4194  1:15.7625
4  GB Galvanizing/Wilson Security Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 17:55.0001  1:15.7440
5  Sherrin Rentals/MWM Steve Owen Ford Falson FG 17:56.4095  1:15.3353
6  Ozstaff Racing Kristian Lindbom Ford Falcon FG 17:56.8434  1:15.7636
7  CEG Rentals Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 17:56.9085  1:15.7139
8  Infants Friend Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 17:57.4079  1:15.4504
9  Marque Management Daniel Gaunt Holden Commodore VE2 17:58.0020  1:15.6031
10  Eggleston Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE 17:58.6380  1:15.5223
11  Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 18:04.4096  1:16.1533
12  R&J Batteries/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 18:04.9742  1:16.1917
13  MiraFlores Estate/Harber Excav Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 18:05.6691  1:16.0051
14  Triple Eight Race Engineering Casey Stoner Holden Commodore VE2 18:11.8697  1:16.0325
15  Rodney Jane Racing/Sonic Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 18:11.9224  1:16.4528
16  Tony D’Alberto Racing Nick McBride Ford Falcon FG 18:13.2161  1:16.3013
17  Finance Ezi Racing Andre Heimgartne Ford Falcon FG 18:13.4149  1:16.0266
18  Image Racing/Arvo Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 18:15.4041  1:16.4824
19  Linde Material Handling Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE2 18:17.3404  1:16.5758
20  Rodney Jane Racing/Sonic Gary Jacobson Ford Falcon FG 18:19.9870  1:16.6171
21  N.Q Concrete Sawing & Drilling Justin Garioch Holden Commodore VE2 18:26.4178  1:17.1832
22  Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 18:36.0548  1:17.0069
23  Poll Performance Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE 18:36.9354  1:17.2620
24  Resi Home Loans Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 18:37.4773  1:17.6947
25  Gulf Western Oil Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 18:42.3261  1:17.1486
26  Pacific Hoists – Hitachi Nandi Kiss Holden Commodore VE 18:52.4133  1:18.5935
27  Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 18:29.3875  1:17.4648
DNF  Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon FG  2:39.2804  1:16.2271
DNF  Finance Ezi Racing Josh Hunter Ford Falocon FG


Comments are closed.