Baird completes hat-trick in Carrera Cup blitz


Craig Baird leading Warren Luff

Craig Baird leading Warren Luff

Gold Coast-based driver Craig Baird marched triumphantly to yet another clean sweep in Round 4 of the Carrera Cup Australia Championship at Townsville.

Baird (Jet Travel Insurance) stormed away to record another win in Race 3 around the Reid Park street circuit and extend his lead in the one-make Porsche series.

Warren Luff, driving the No Second Chance entry, scored his best result of the weekend in second while Steven Richards (Laser Racing) claimed his first podium of the round in third.

Nick Percat (Coates Hire) struck trouble on the opening lap and was eliminated from the race with what appeared to be radiator and wheel damage. Percat had been runner-up to Baird in the opening two heats.

 Richards had an intense battle with Michael Patrizi for the final podium slot however the latter had to settle for fourth in the Ausdrill car.

Shae Davies (Davbridge Constructions) was next followed by Max Twigg (Permagard), Duvashen Padayachee (Team BRM) and Tony Bates (Alternative Freight).

Damien Flack (Corporate Cleaning Services) was ninth with Christchurch dealership principal Paul Kelly completing the top 10.

More to follow

See below for full results for Carrera Cup Race 3

1 Jet Travel Insurance Craig Baird (NZL) 17:44.7301 1:15.2299
2 No Second Chance/Phase 8 Warren Luff (NSW) 17:48.1183 1:15.3955
3 Laser Plumbing & Electrical Steven Richards (VIC) 17:49.6909 1:15.3706
4 Ausdrill – Onsite Racing Michael Patrizi (WA) 17:51.1764 1:15.1382
5 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies (QLD) 18:01.6099 1:15.2683
6 Permagard Automotive Max Twigg (VIC) 18:05.7943 1:16.2089
7 Team BRM/ Rentcorp Property Gr Duvashen Padayachee NSW 18:05.9585 1:15.9135
8 Alternative Freight Services Tony Bates (VIC) 18:12.5671 1:16.4628
9 Corporate Cleaning Services Damien Flack (QLD) 18:12.7812 1:16.4097
10 Paul Kelly Motor Group Paul Kelly (NZL) 18:21.8998 1:16.9380
11 Porsche Centre Brighton James Bergmuller (VIC) 18:23.6420 1:17.4036
12 Grove Group Stephen Grove (VIC) 18:27.6505 1:17.6567
13 Hallmarc Marc Cini (VIC) 18:28.5484 1:17.9129
14 Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie (QLD) 18:28.7333 1:17.4742
15 Hallmarc Michael Loccisano (VIC) 18:31.6119 1:17.9795
16 JMC Group Martin Wagg (VIC) 18:35.7828 1:18.1346
17 Objective Racing Tony Walls (NSW) 18:59.8966 1:18.5948
DNF Coates Hire Racing Nicholas Percat (SA)  1:24.0757 1:24.0757
DNF McGrath Estate Agents Shane Smollen (NSW)


Comments are closed.