Van Gisbergen fastest as Red Bulls struggle

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen set the fastest time in a Race 20 qualifying session that saw both Red Bull Racing Holdens miss the Top 10 Shootout.

Van Gisbergen edged his Tekno Holden 0.06s ahead of Mark Winterbottom’s FPR Ford as the chequered flag flew on the 20 minute session.

Winterbottom and eventual third placed man Fabian Coulthard had sat atop the sheets heading into the final minutes after completing early final runs while the track was clear.

The hard tyre only session was the first clear indication of the relative speed of the cars this weekend following a typically mixed five practice hit-outs.

James Courtney, Will Davison and David Reynolds all improved with their final qualifying efforts for fourth through sixth, while an early time from Jason Bright held up for seventh.

Scott McLaughlin, Tim Slade and Alex Davison complete the Shootout field, while Rick Kelly narrowly missed out on ensuring all marques are represented in the Top 10.

The biggest story, however, was the disappointment at Red Bull after Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup managed just 12th and 16th respectively.

The duo took the flag line astern at the end of the session, with Lowndes marginally improving as Whincup continued to struggle.

The Holden Racing Team’s Garth Tander also had a disappointing run and will start 15th.

Soft tyres will be permitted in the Top 10 Shootout, which is set to take place at 1310 local time.

QUALIFYING : Race 20 – Townsville

Pos Team Driver Car Time Gap
1 TEKNO Team VIP  Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:13.5569*
2 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford  Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:13.6137  0:00.0568
3 Lockwood Racing  Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:13.6297  0:00.0728
4 Holden Racing Team  James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:13.6941  0:00.1372
5 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford  Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:13.7103  0:00.1534
6 The Bottle-O FPR Ford  David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:13.7119  0:00.1550
7 Team BOC  Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:13.7217  0:00.1648
8 Fujitsu Racing GRM  Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 1:13.7516  0:00.1947
9 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing  Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 1:13.8386  0:00.2817
10 Jeld-wen FPR Ford  Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:13.8588  0:00.3019
11 Jack Daniel’s Racing  Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:13.9098  0:00.3529
12 Red Bull Racing Australia  Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:13.9112  0:00.3543
13 Team HIFLEX  Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:13.9314  0:00.3745
14 Wilson Security Racing  Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 1:13.9319  0:00.3750
15 Holden Racing Team  Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:13.9466  0:00.3897
16 Red Bull Racing Australia  Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:14.0316  0:00.4747
17 Tekno Autosports  Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:14.0335  0:00.4766
18 Irwin Racing  Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 1:14.0337  0:00.4768
19 Fujitsu Racing GRM  Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 1:14.0880  0:00.5311
20 Wilson Security Racing  David Wall Holden Commodore VF 1:14.1661  0:00.6092
21 SP Tools Racing  Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 1:14.1724  0:00.6155
22 Supercheap Auto Racing  Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:14.2799  0:00.7230
23 Jack Daniel’s Racing  Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:14.3201  0:00.7632
24 Norton 360 Racing  James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:14.4180  0:00.8611
25 ekol Racing  Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:14.4635  0:00.9066
26 Norton 360 Racing  Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:14.5340  0:00.9771
27 Wilson Security Racing  Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 1:14.7142  0:01.1573
28 Dodo Insurance Racing  Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 1:14.7495  0:01.1921


Comments are closed.