Van Gisbergen denies Davison Townsville pole

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen

Qualifying pace-setter Shane van Gisbergen provided a grandstand finish to the Top 10 Shootout on his way to a third pole of the 2013 V8 Supercars Championship.

Van GIsbergen’s hard tyre pace from the 20 minute qualifying session transferred across to the softer rubber, with the 24-year-old Kiwi besting next-quickest man Will Davison by a full 0.24s.

Davison had been the sixth driver on track. His lap withstood following efforts from James Courtney, Fabian Coulthard and Mark Winterbottom before falling at the final hurdle.

Coulthard will start third after missing Davison’s time by just 0.006s.

Jason Bright, Winterbottom, Courtney and Scott McLaughlin were all within 0.25s of Davison to fill fourth through seventh, while Alex Davison, David Reynolds and Tim Slade completed the 10.

Reynolds and Slade both made mistakes on their laps, losing time while running wide at Turns 2 and 11 respectively.

Race 20 will see drivers required to compete on both compounds of tyre across the 200km journey, which is set to kick-off at 1535 local time.

See below for the full Top 10 Shootout result

1 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:12.5139
2 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:12.7512 0:00.2373
3 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:12.7573 0:00.2434
4 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:12.9079 0:00.3940
5 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:12.9384 0:00.4245
6 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:12.9557 0:00.4418
7 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 1:12.9956 0:00.4817
8 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:13.1304 0:00.6165
9 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:13.7111 0:01.1972
10 Heavy Haulage Australia Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 1:14.0769 0:01.5630


Comments are closed.