Owen on Dunlop pole as Walsh strikes trouble

Steve Owen took his second pole from two attempts this season

Steve Owen took his second pole from two attempts this season

Dunlop Series pace-setters Steve Owen and Ashley Walsh will start from opposite ends of the grid in Race 1 at Townsville after disaster struck the series leader in qualifying.

Walsh suffered a power steering failiure on his first flying lap in the session and was unable to return to the circuit during the remainder of the 30 minutes.

The Matt Stone Racing Ford therefore did not set a time and will start the opening race from 30th.

Owen meanwhile dominated proceedings, with his fastest time proving 0.45s quicker than that of the next best, Jack Perkins.

The only real drama for Owen occurred when Marcus Zukanovic swerved in front of the twice series winner while warming his tyres mid-session.

Friday fast-man Perkins had improved to second late in the session after eventual third through sixth place runners Daniel Gaunt, Dale Wood, Kristian Lindbom and Taz Douglas had completed their final runs.

Cameron Waters will start seventh despite a spin at Turn 8 late in the going, while Andre Heimgartner, Andrew Jones and Aaren Russell completed the top 10.

Casey Stoner will start Race 1 from 11th after failing to improve on his second and third runs.

The former MotoGP World Champion repeatedly caught traffic at crucial moments in addition to running off at Turn 3 on his penultimate lap.

The first of three Dunlop Series races for the weekend will be held at 1235 local time.

See below for the full qualifying result

1 Sherrin Rentals/MWM Steve Owen Ford Falson FG 1:14.0118
2 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE 1:14.4713 0:00.4595
3 Marque Management Daniel Gaunt Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.5511 0:00.5393
4 GB Galvanizing/Wilson Security Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 1:14.5755 0:00.5637
5 Ozstaff Racing Kristian Lindbom Ford Falcon FG 1:14.5959 0:00.5841
6 Image Racing/Arvo Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 1:14.6250 0:00.6132
7 Linde Material Handling Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.6924 0:00.6806
8 Finance Ezi Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 1:14.7397 0:00.7279
9 Advam Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.7481 0:00.7363
10 CEG Rentals Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 1:14.8890 0:00.8772
11 Triple Eight Race Engineering Casey Stoner Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.0224 0:01.0106
12 Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon FG 1:15.0917 0:01.0799
13 R&J Batteries/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.1706 0:01.1588
14 I Seek George Miedecke Ford Falcon FG 1:15.1858 0:01.1740
15 Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.1887 0:01.1769
16 MiraFlores Estate/Harber Excav Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 1:15.2674 0:01.2556
17 Rodney Jane Racing/Sonic Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 1:15.3556 0:01.3438
18 Rodney Jane Racing/Sonic Gary Jacobson Ford Falcon FG 1:15.4359 0:01.4241
19 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.4983 0:01.4865
20 Blackchrome Sports & Workwear Sam Walter Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.6090 0:01.5972
21 Finance Ezi Racing Josh Hunter Ford Falocon FG 1:15.6878 0:01.6760
22 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 1:15.7724 0:01.7606
23 Tony D’Alberto Racing Nick McBride Ford Falcon FG 1:15.8010 0:01.7892
24 N.Q Concrete Sawing & Drilling Justin Garioch Holden Commodore VE2 1:16.7575 0:02.7457
25 Gulf Western Oil Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 1:17.1319 0:03.1201
26 Poll Performance Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE 1:17.1426 0:03.1308
27 Resi Home Loans Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 1:17.2623 0:03.2505
28 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 1:17.3563 0:03.3445
29 Pacific Hoists – Hitachi Nandi Kiss Holden Commodore VE 1:17.9492 0:03.9374
30 Infants Friend Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG
Rev Trans WA Aaron Tebb Holden Commodore VE2


Comments are closed.