Norton Nissans lead the way in third practice

Caruso and team-mate Moffat showed the way

Caruso and team-mate Moffat showed the way

Nissan Motorsport’s Norton-backed duo Michael Caruso and James Moffat have locked out the top places in the first full-field practice session in Townsville.

Following the morning’s co-driver running, the primary drivers had the track to themselves in Practice 2.

Caruso moved to the top of the order inside the opening 10 minutes and, although momentarily displaced by Moffat mid-session, would prove the fastest man.

Just 0.14s separated the pair at the chequered flag, with Caruso shaving fractions off his previous best time in the final minute.

The result marks the first time that Nissan has topped a V8 Supercars/ATCC session since 1992.

The Holdens of Alexandre Premat, Garth Tander and Scott McLaughlin filled third through fifth, with Chaz Mostert, Tim Slade, Will Davison, Lee Holdsworth and Shane van Gisbergen completing the top 10.

Like the opening two sessions, the third 30 minute hit-out ran green for its duration.

Several drivers, including championship contenders Jamie Whincup and Will Davison, found minor trouble however, completing harmless spins at Turn 11.

A final 30 minute session will complete the day’s V8 Supercars action this afternoon.

See below for full Practice 2 results

1 Norton 360 Racing  Michael Caruso  Nissan Altima  1:13.8353*
2 Norton 360 Racing  James Moffat  Nissan Altima  1:13.9771  0:00.1418
3 Fujitsu Racing GRM  Alexandre Premat  Holden Commodore VF  1:14.1736  0:00.3383
4 Holden Racing Team  Garth Tander  Holden Commodore VF  1:14.5263  0:00.6910
5 Fujitsu Racing GRM  Scott McLaughlin  Holden Commodore VF  1:14.5786  0:00.7433
6 Wilson Security Racing  Chaz Mostert  Ford Falcon FG  1:14.6077  0:00.7724
7 Heavy Haulage Australia  Tim Slade  Mercedes E63 AMG  1:14.7295  0:00.8942
8 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford  Will Davison  Ford Falcon FG  1:14.7985  0:00.9632
9 Irwin Racing  Lee Holdsworth  Mercedes E63 AMG  1:14.8101  0:00.9748
10 TEKNO Team VIP  Shane Van Gisbergen  Holden Commodore VF  1:14.8804  0:01.0451
11 Holden Racing Team  James Courtney  Holden Commodore VF  1:14.9048  0:01.0695
12 Team BOC  Jason Bright  Holden Commodore VF  1:14.9066  0:01.0713
13 The Bottle-O FPR Ford  David Reynolds  Ford Falcon FG  1:14.9680  0:01.1327
14 Lockwood Racing  Fabian Coulthard  Holden Commodore VF  1:15.0645  0:01.2292
15 Red Bull Racing Australia  Craig Lowndes  Holden Commodore VF  1:15.1212  0:01.2859
16 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford  Mark Winterbottom  Ford Falcon FG  1:15.1304  0:01.2951
17 Red Bull Racing Australia  Jamie Whincup  Holden Commodore VF  1:15.2497  0:01.4144
18 Supercheap Auto Racing  Russell Ingall  Holden Commodore VF  1:15.2869  0:01.4516
19 ekol Racing  Scott Pye  Holden Commodore VF  1:15.3410  0:01.5057
20 SP Tools Racing  Maro Engel  Mercedes E63 AMG  1:15.5169  0:01.6816
21 Jeld-wen FPR Ford  Alex Davison  Ford Falcon FG  1:15.5316  0:01.6963
22 Wilson Security Racing  David Wall  Holden Commodore VF  1:15.5441  0:01.7088
23 Team HIFLEX  Tony D’Alberto  Holden Commodore VF  1:15.6039  0:01.7686
24 Tekno Autosports  Jonathon Webb  Holden Commodore VF  1:15.6248  0:01.7895
25 Dodo Insurance Racing  Dean Fiore  Holden Commodore VF  1:15.6265  0:01.7912
26 Jack Daniel’s Racing  Todd Kelly  Nissan Altima  1:15.6902  0:01.8549
27 Wilson Security Racing  Tim Blanchard  Ford Falcon FG  1:15.7304  0:01.8951
28 Jack Daniel’s Racing  Rick Kelly  Nissan Altima  1:15.7556  0:01.920



Comments are closed.