Simon Pagenaud wins wild Detroit Race 2

Simon Pagenaud wins maiden IndyCar race

Simon Pagenaud wins maiden IndyCar race

French driver Simon Pagenaud recorded his maiden IndyCar victory after a chaotic Dual in Detroit round of the series.

Pagenaud became the sixth different winner this season by storming away from the field after the race was marred by six caution periods before half-race distance in the 70-lap race at the Belle Isle street track.

He bolted away from the field over the last few laps, timing his run to perfection to beat British drivers James Jakes (Rahal Letterman Lanigan) and Race 1 winner Mike Conway (Dale Coyne Racing).

The Chip Ganassi pair of Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti managed to pick their way through some wild incidents to finish fourth and fifth.

Marco Andretti was sixth with Helio Castroneves finishing eighth with that pair coming away locked on points at the top of the points table.

Conway began to stalk Jakes over the last three laps as the race for second intensified however the latter managed to stave off the challenge aided by push-to-pass boosts which his pursuer had exhausted.

The Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports driver Pagenaud led home Honda-powered cars which filled the top five spots.

There was bedlam short of half-race distance when Will Power was tagged by Sebastien Bourdais on the restart after the fifth caution period which triggered a chain reaction involving up to 10 cars filing into turn one on lap 28.

After climbing out of his car, Power stormed down the track on foot with track marshals training to restrain him.

He tossed his gloves at Bourdais in disgust. Bourdais managed to escape the melee as the four-times Champ Car series champion continued to file around under the safety car.

“Double file restarts and Bourdais got into the back of me. What was that guy doing? That’s racing. Bourdais he once was a champ and now he’s a chump,” Power fumed.

Bourdais subsequently served a drive-through penalty for avoidable contact and was eventually classified in 11th.

 Ryan Briscoe, stepping into the Panther Racing machine, was caught up in the melee and finished a lap down in 13th position.

Here are the race highlights

More than 20 of the opening 37 laps were running under caution.

Result: Race 2

Pos Driver Car/Engine Laps Time/Delay
1 Simon Pagenaud Dallara/Honda 70
2 James Jakes Dallara/Honda 70
3 Mike Conway Dallara/Honda 70
4 Scott Dixon Dallara/Honda 70
5 Dario Franchitti Dallara/Honda 70
6 Marco Andretti Dallara/Chevrolet 70
7 Charlie Kimball Dallara/Honda 70
8 Hélio Castroneves Dallara/Chevrolet 70
9 Graham Rahal Dallara/Honda 70
10 Sebastian Saavedra Dallara/Chevrolet 70
11 Sébastien Bourdais Dallara/Chevrolet 70
12 Tony Kanaan Dallara/Chevrolet 70
13 Ryan Briscoe Dallara/Chevrolet 69 1 Lap
14 Tristan Vautier Dallara/Honda 69 1 Lap
15 Ed Carpenter Dallara/Chevrolet 66 4 Laps
16 Josef Newgarden Dallara/Honda 64 6 Laps
17 Ernesto Viso Dallara/Chevrolet 61 9 Laps
18 Ryan Hunter-Reay Dallara/Chevrolet 59 11 Laps
19 James Hinchcliffe Dallara/Chevrolet 57 13 Laps
20 Will Power Dallara/Chevrolet 53 17 Laps
21 Alex Tagliani Dallara/Honda 27 Contact
22 Justin Wilson Dallara/Honda 27 Contact
23 Takuma Sato Dallara/Honda 23 Contact
24 Simona de Silvestro Dallara/Chevrolet 8 Contact
25 A.J. Allmendinger Dallara/Chevrolet 0 Contact


Pos Driver Points
1 Helio Castroneves 206
2 Marco Andretti 206
3 Ryan Hunter-Reay 191
4 Scott Dixon 186
5 Simon Pagenaud 177
6 Takuma Sato 175
7 Justin Wilson 169
8 Tony Kanaan 160
9 James Hinchcliffe 154
10 Charlie Kimball 149
11 Dario Franchitti 140
12 James Jakes 130
13 EJ Viso 130
14 Graham Rahal 126
15 Josef Newgarden 124
16 Will Power 124
17 Simona de Silvestro 123
18 Oriol Servia 112
19 Tristan Vautier 109
20 Ed Carpenter 108
21 Sébastien Bourdais 99
22 Mike Conway 97
23 Alex Tagliani 95
24 JR Hildebrand 79
25 Seabstian Saavedra 72
26 AJ Allmendinger 65
27 Carlos Munoz 54
28 Ana Beatriz 53
29 Ryan Briscoe 48
30 Conor Daly 11
31 Townsend Bell 10
31 Katherine Legge 8
31 Pippa Mann 8
34 Buddy Lazier 8




Comments are closed.