Percat/Jane win cliffhanger opening Carrera Cup race

The #222 Coates Hire Nick Percat/Rodney Jane entry claims opening Carrera Cup race

The #222 Coates Hire Nick Percat/Rodney Jane entry claims opening Carrera Cup race

Nick Percat and Rodney Jane have taken first blood in the opening Carrera Cup race at the Porsche Rennsport Festival of Motor Racing meeting at Sydney Motorsport Park.

In a thrilling finish Percat pounced on leader Adam Gowans with seconds remaining in the one-hour shared driver meeting which doubles as round three of the Australian Carrera Cup Championship.

Luke Youlden crossed the line in third place in the #8 Permagard Automotive car he commandeered with Max Twigg.

It was a landmark win for Jane, who become the first Elite class driver to win a Carrera Cup Championship race in his 150th start in the category in the #222 Coates Hire Racing machine.

Gowans was handed the lead when he jumped in after a perfect opening stint by Shae Davies with the pair dominating all but the remaining seconds of the race. Under the rules there is a mandatory pit stop for a driver change where cars need to be stationary for a minimum of 45 seconds.

Geoff Emery, who took over from Warren Luff during the mandatory pitstop, was fourth in the No Second Chance #7 machine ahead of Troy Bayliss, who brought home the #29 Ausdrill Onsite Racing Porsche in fifth after Michael Patrizi started the race.  Luff and Emery had been running strongly in second place for most of the race but were hampered by an engine misfire.

Polesitter James Koundouris lost out at the start, falling back to ninth in the early stages. Then compounding the slow start, Koundouris lost the front splitter, severely compromising his front-end grip.

Koundouris was the first called in for the mandatory pitstop when the window opened between 25-35 minutes with Steve Owen taking charge of the #47 Supabarn Supermarkets Cup car before taking ninth.

Starting 12th Kiwi John Penny did a solid job in his stint before handing over to Championship leader Craig Baird.

The crack Porsche driver then began a rear-guard attack making up many places to eventually finish seventh and limit the impact to his points lead.

Drivetrain issues forced the #24 Pure Energy/N2U car which started third at the hands of Alex Davison to retire inside the last 10 minutes when Tony Bates was forced to pull the machine off the circuit.

Result: Carrera Cup Race 1

1 N.Percat/R.Jane Coates Hire Racing Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:00:52.7371
2 S.Davies/A.Gowans Team Kiwi Racing Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:00:54.5667
3 M.Twigg/L.Youlden Permagard Automotive Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:00:56.2867
4 W.Luff/G.Emery No Second Chance Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:00.2507
5 M.Patrizi/T.Bayliss Ausdrill – Onsite Racing Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:02.1750
6 S.Richards/T.Koundouris Laser Plumbing & Electrical Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:05.8371
7 C.Baird/J.Penny Jet Travel Insurance Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:15.7015
8 D.Flack/D.Wall Rosche Visper Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:24.4197
9 J.Koundouris/S.Owen Supabarn Supermarkets Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:24.6827
10 S.Grove/E.Bamber Grove Group Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:46.8601
11 M.Cini/T.Slade Hallmarc Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:48.2629
12 D.Padayachee/J.Bobik Team BRM / Rentcorp Property Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:50.6317
13 M.Kingsley/J.Goodacre Action Tyres and More Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:55.5478
14 S.Smollen/D.Russell McGrath Estate Agents Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:57.7842
15 J.Bergmuller/D.Wood Porsche Centre Brighton Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:02:00.7485
16 M.Loccisano/J.Reid Hallmarc Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:02:02.8636
17 T.Walls/J.Davison Objective Racing Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:02:03.0983
18 R.Muscat/S.Middleton GT3 Factory / Wrap My Ride Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:02:20.2752
19 A.Jones/X.West Malibu Boats Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:03.1760
20 R.Gracie/P.Hill Fujitsu Racing Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 01:01:33.1508
DNF T.Bates/A.Davison Pure Energy/ N2U Porsche 911 GT3 Cup    51:43.2123




Comments are closed.