Evans surpasses Bourne with Scouts Rally win

Evans creates history with nine on the trot

Evans creates history with nine on the trot

Honda’s Eli Evan’s has created history by winning his ninth consecutive Australian Rally Championship event, surpassing Rallying immortal Possum Bourne’s long standing record.

Evans and co-driver Glen Weston won both heats to claim the overall round victory at this year’s Scouts Rally SA.

Renault Sport Rally Team powered home to secure second in heat two with Scott Pedder at the wheel and Dale Moscatt impressive on the notes.

Rally internationals Brendan Reeves and sister Rhianon Smyth picked up a second podium for the weekend driving the RallySchool.com.au-entered Mazda2, putting the pair third overall for the weekend’s standings.

“It’s been another really incredible weekend for us, for Honda and for our entire team,” said Evans.

“We are at the mid-point in the season and to be ahead in the points is a great feeling.”

The event however was marred by a serious accident on the second stage of the morning.

Rally competitors Adrian Di Lallo and co-driver Roger Pedersen are in a serious  but stable condition at the Royal Adelaide Hospital after a crash on stage 13 of the Scouts Rally SA.

CAMS and Police Major Crash investigators have both inspected the scene of the accident, according to a report in the Herald Sun.

Red Earth Motorsport driver  Di Lallo was piloting a GpN Mitsubishi Lancer EVO VI in the East Coast Bullbars 4WD National Rally Series.

Round four of the ARC takes crews north for the International Rally of Queensland from the Sunshine Coast, 12-14 July.

VIDEO: Scouts Rally SA event wrap:

Heat 2 Results






Eli Evans/Glen Weston

Honda Jazz


Scott Pedder/Dale Moscatt

Renault Clio



Brendan Reeves/Rhianon Smyth



Comments are closed.