Jack LeBrocq storms to GT victory

Jack LeBrocq

Jack LeBrocq

The Mitsubishi Evo of Glenn Seton and Bob Pearson took pole position the Great Southern Four Hour enduro while a debut win for Jack LeBrocq in the Australian GT Championship highlighted a busy day at Phillip Island.

LeBrocq dominated the first of two, one-hour Pirelli Australian GT Championship races in his Erebus Motorsport Mercedes Benz SLS AMG.

Starting from pole, he held out an early challenge from John Bowe’s Ferrari to build a comfortable margin and lead through all but the compulsory pit stops, to win by more than 30 seconds.

On his way to victory he lowered the existing Australian GT lap record and led home Tony Quinn’s Aston Martin Vantage, Roger Lago’s Lamborghini, John Bowe’s Ferrari and the Dean Koutsoumidis, Andrew McInnes Audi R8 to make it five brands in the top five.

Seton and Pearson edged out Mitsubishi rivals Garry Holt and Ryan McLeod for pole position in tomorrow’s Great Southern Four Hour endurance race.

The Holt/McLeod combination topped the initial 20-minute session with a strong 1:43.0350s lap – only for Seton’s 1:42.7789s to bump them to second in the later session.

Evo Lancers qualified first, second and third with Dylan Thomas and Ryan Simpson slotting in behind the similar cars, just in front of the Beric Lynton / Tim Leahey BMW 1M.

Grant and Iain Sherrin (Class B – BMW 135i), Jake Camilleri / Scott Nicholas (Class C – Mazda 3 MPS) and Michael Sherrin / David Ayers (Mini Cooper S JCW) were the fastest qualifiers in their classes.

British driver James Winslow smashed the Radical Australia Cup lap record finishing second to points leader Neale Muston after running wide at turn one.

Winslow’s lap record of 1:25.9242 is the second-fastest car to officially lap the Island, with only Simon Wills Reynard Formula Holden faster with 1:24.22s set in 2000.

Ben Grice, son of two-time Bathurst 1000 champion Allan, today won his first national-level race in the Suzuki series after taking his second pole position from the first two rounds this year.

Chris Barry won the opening PRB race.


Comments are closed.