Coulthard strikes back for BJR in Race 15

Fabian Coulthard

Fabian Coulthard

Fabian Coulthard has stopped Red Bull Racing Australia’s five-race streak by taking Race 15 at the Circuit of the Americas.

Coulthard greeted the chequered flag 0.9s clear of second placed Craig Lowndes having controlled the final 13 laps following a Safety Car restart.

The win however is currently provisional due to a post-race investigation into whether or not Coulthard maintained an appropriate speed prior to the restart.

Jamie Whincup led the opening laps from pole but soon fell behind Mark Winterbottom, Coulthard and Lowndes as he struggled with his Holden.

After overtaking Whincup, Winterbottom led until pitting when the window opened on Lap 11, where he lost considerable time with yet another slow tyre change from Ford Performance Racing.

Winterbottom was seventh by the time the pitstop cycle shook out and could make no headway from there, his pace hindered by being forced to run a left-over tyre from Race 1 on the troublesome left-rear.

Jonathon Webb finished fourth after capatilising on a slow restart from Rick Kelly to take both the Nissan and Garth Tander’s Holden in one move.

Tander eventually finished behind Webb and the second Tekno Holden of Shane van Gisbergen, who showed impressive pace in the closing stages.

Jason Bright came home eighth ahead of a fading Rick Kelly and James Courtney.

Will Davison could manage just 12th in his Pepsi Max FPR Falcon and has now lost second place in the points standings to Lowndes.

The fourth and final 100km race of the weekend his set to kick-off at 1700 local time.

See below for the full Race 15 result

1 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 27 45:24.8159
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 27 45:25.7561
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 27 45:27.3633
4 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 27 45:29.9763
5 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 27 45:35.2870
6 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 27 45:35.6196
7 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 27 45:36.5976
8 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 27 45:36.7870
9 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 27 45:38.6060
10 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 27 45:39.9827
11 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 27 45:41.8723
12 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 27 45:41.9135
13 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 27 45:47.4055
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 27 45:47.7188
15 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 27 45:48.3375
16 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 27 45:48.7838
17 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 27 45:48.9888
18 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 27 45:50.5707
19 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 27 45:50.8420
20 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 27 45:52.1733
21 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 27 45:52.7346
22 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 27 45:55.6346
23 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 27 45:59.0136
24 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 27 45:59.5244
25 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 27 45:59.7223
26 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 27 46:00.0796
27 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 27 46:09.1818
28 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 27 46:36.5475

Comments are closed.