Whincup extends Red Bull streak in Race 14

Whincup and Lowndes enjoyed another one-two in Race 14

Whincup and Lowndes enjoyed another one-two in Race 14

Jamie Whincup extended Red Bull Racing Australia’s winning streak to five consecutive races by leading home team-mate Craig Lowndes in Race 14 at the Circuit of the Americas.

In a repeat of his Race 13 performance from earlier in the day, Whincup led away from the start and was only headed during the pitstop cycle thereafter.

Fellow front-row starter Lowndes ran side-by-side with Whincup through the first two corners before slotting into second and was almost four seconds behind once the leader pitted just past the halfway mark.

Lowndes made his own stop two laps later and shadowed his fellow Red Bull driver to the flag, with the final margin an even second.

Fabian Coulthard was again the best of the rest in third, holding out a determined Tekno Autosports duo in the closing stages.

Jonathon Webb ducked underneath team-mate Shan van Gisbergen on the final lap while the Kiwi attempted to set-up a passing move of his own on Coulthard.

Rick Kelly had appeared set to repeat his Race 13 result of sixth before dropping two places while appearing to run out of fuel on the final lap.

Mark Winterbottom and Scott McLaughlin benefited to take sixth and seventh respectively, while ninth and 10th were filled by the second Pepsi FPR Falcon of Will Davison and the Norton Nissan of James Moffat.

Michael Caruso, Jason Bright and Scott Pye repeated their Race 13 strategy of leaving their pitstops until the waning laps, eventually finishing 15th, 21st and 22nd respectively.

It was another tough outing for Erebus Motorsport with Tim Slade losing three laps with mechanical problems and Maro Engel completing just three laps before contact led to retirement.

David Wall fared worst of all, however, as his Wilson Security Holden failed to take the start after registering low oil pressure on the warm-up lap.

Whincup now leads second placed Will Davison by 113 points in the championship standings ahead of the two Sunday races that will conclude the Austin 400.

See below for the full Race 14 result

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 27 43:16.6491
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 27 43:17.7472
3 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 27 43:27.3415
4 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 27 43:27.5011
5 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 27 43:27.8437
6 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 27 43:31.6283
7 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 27 43:33.1956
8 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 27 43:33.7266
9 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 27 43:37.2792
10 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 27 43:37.5227
11 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 27 43:38.2973
12 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 27 43:40.2727
13 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 27 43:43.8671
14 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 27 43:49.0699
15 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 27 43:49.2105
16 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 27 43:50.8652
17 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 27 43:52.8156
18 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 27 43:58.6898
19 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 27 43:59.0135
20 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 27 43:59.3124
21 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 27 44:01.3351
22 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 27 44:02.9541
23 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 27 44:08.4641
24 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 27 44:09.7067
25 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 27 44:16.0874
26 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 24 44:22.9898
DNF SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG  3  5:39.9453
DNF Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF

See below for the updated points standings

1 Jamie Whincup 1108
2 Will Davison  995
3 Craig Lowndes  981
4 Jason Bright  852
5 Fabian Coulthard  840
6 Shane Van Gisbergen  788
7 Garth Tander  777
8 Mark Winterbottom  762
9 James Courtney  747
10 Jonathon Webb  666
11 Scott McLaughlin  647
12 Alex Davison  581
13 James Moffat  580
14 Rick Kelly  564
15 David Reynolds  558
16 Alexandre Premat  512
17 Russell Ingall  489
18 Tony D’Alberto  468
19 Dean Fiore  454
20 Lee Holdsworth  408
21 Michael Caruso  388
22 David Wall  377
23 Tim Blanchard  368
24 Tim Slade  342
25 Scott Pye  323
26 Todd Kelly  273
27 Maro Engel  215
28 Chaz Mostert  189

Comments are closed.