Marco Melandri produces dramatic home victory

Marco Melandri

Marco Melandri

BMW Motorrad rider Marco Melandri secured his first win of the World Superbike season after edging Tom Sykes and Eugene Laverty in a sensational three-way scrap at Monza.

The Italian had to work hard for the victory on home soil, taking the chequered flag by a tenth of a second from Sykes and Laverty, after a titanic tussle that saw him enter the final lap in third place.

Polesitter Sykes was unable to keep his works Kawasaki at the head of the field at the start as Aprilia’s Laverty reacted best to the lights and grabbed the lead on the run down to the first chicane.

Pata Honda’s Jonathan Rea snatched second with Melandri slotting in third just ahead of Sykes and Sylvain Guintoli.

An error from Rea allowed the top four to break away from the chasing pack and and it wasn’t long before Guintoli slipped past Sykes for third position.

The move sparked a charge from the Frenchman as he then overtook Melandri at Roggia, before surging into the lead at the Parabolica.

Melandri and Sykes tried to follow in Guintoli’s wheel tracks by passing Laverty for second a third respectively before the start of lap 10.

Melandri continued his charge and he then took the lead on lap 11 at Roggia chicane.

The Italian’s time at the front was short-lived as Guintoli sparked back into life and stormed passed Melandri for the lead with Sykes also following into second.

The Brit then passed Guintoli before Melandri issued a response by overtaking Guintoli and Sykes.

Laverty soon ignited his charge by passing Guintoli, who began to fall back and lose touch with the top three.

As the laps ticked down, the battle for the win emerged as a three horse race between Melandri, Sykes and Laverty.

Assen race winner Laverty began the final lap in the lead and his late charge was seemingly well-timed. But Melandri found a way passed Sykes and the Italian stalked the race leader before passing him at Roggia.

However, he was unable to hold on and Laverty regained the lead at Ascari.

With just one corner remaining, Melandri dived passed Laverty at the final corner and roared on by the crowd he took the flag from Sykes, who pipped Laverty and was just 0.085 seconds behind the race winner.

Guintoli cruised to the line in fourth with Chaz Davies holding off Michel Fabrizio for sixth. Loris Baz came home in seventh ahead of Rea, who was penalised two places for running on at the chicane.

Leon Camier and Davide Giugliano rounded out the top town, while Australian Mark Aitchison crossed the line in 16th position.

Race 1 Results

  Nº   Rider   Bike Diff
1 Marco Melandri BMW
2 Tom Sykes Kawasaki 0.085
3 Eugene Laverty Aprilia 0.107
4 Sylvain Guintoli Aprilia 1.844
5 Chaz Davies BMW 7.629
6 Michel Fabrizio Aprilia 8.407
7 Loris Baz Kawasaki 15.555
8 Jonathan Rea Honda 16.465
9 Leon Camier Suzuki 16.668
10 Davide Giugliano Aprilia 26.820
11 Ayrton Badovini Ducati 38.908
12 Max Neukirchner Ducati 38.951
13 Fabrizio Lai Kawasaki 52.788
14 Kosuke Akiyoshi Honda 55.889
15 Federico Sandi Kawasaki 56.006
16 Mark Aitchison Ducati 56.827
17 Jules Cluzel Suzuki 59.545
(18) V.Iannuzzo BMW Retirement
Carlos Checa Ducati Withdrawn

Race 2 Results

 Cla   Rider   Bike   Diff
1 Eugene Laverty Aprilia
2 Marco Melandri BMW 0.143
3 Tom Sykes Kawasaki 0.725
4 Sylvain Guintoli Aprilia 1.619
5 Michel Fabrizio Aprilia 9.965
6 Davide Giugliano Aprilia 10.066
7 Leon Camier Suzuki 12.241
8 Loris Baz Kawasaki 29.771
9 Ayrton Badovini Ducati 35.005
10 Max Neukirchner Ducati 41.757
11 Fabrizio Lai Kawasaki 52.579
12 V.Iannuzzo BMW 1’28.772
13 Federico Sandi Kawasaki 1 Lap
(5) Chaz Davies BMW Retirement
(15) Jonathan Rea Honda Retirement
(13) Kosuke Akiyoshi Honda Retirement
(16) Mark Aitchison Ducati Retirement
(10) Jules Cluzel Suzuki Retirement

2013 Championship Standings

Cla Rider Points
1 Sylvain Guintoli 137
2 Eugene Laverty 124
3 Tom Sykes 119
4 Marco Melandri 96
5 Chaz Davies 94
6 Loris Baz 75
7 Michel Fabrizio 74
8 Jonathan Rea 71
9 Davide Giugliano 49
10 Leon Camier 46
11 Jules Cluzel 41
12 Max Neukirchner 39
13 Ayrton Badovini 32
14 Carlos Checa 29
15 Leon Haslam 29
16 Ivan Clementi 14
17 Federico Sandi 12
18 Fabrizio Lai 8
19 Alexander Lundh 7
20 V.Iannuzzo 6
21 Glenn Allerton 6
22 Jamie Stauffer 4
23 Kosuke Akiyoshi 2

Comments are closed.