Alonso wins tyre bullfight to take home win in Spain

Fernando Alonso produces fine home GP win

Fernando Alonso produces fine home GP win

Fernando Alonso stormed to his second win of the season by claiming the Spanish Grand Prix to rekindle Ferrari’s hopes of winning the Championship.

The double world champion whipped his home crowd at the Catalunya circuit into a frenzy by beating Kimi Raikkonen and easily to take his 32nd career F1 win.

In a grand prix which did not reach the dizzy heights of the previous race in Bahrain, Alonso recorded his second Spanish GP crown.

Alonso perfectly executed a four-stop strategy devised by Ferrari after starting fifth. His Ferrari team-mate Felipe Massa played a slick support role to finish third.

Massa had started from ninth after receiving a grid penalty for a blocking incident with Mark Webber in the second part of qualifying.

Sebastien Vettel struggled to keep in touch with the Ferraris and the Lotus to finish fourth, one spot ahead of Webber.

Polesitter Nico Rosberg had a frustrating race for Mercedes with the car once again proving sluggish on hard compound tyres before salvaging sixth ahead of the Mercedes-powered Force India of Paul di Resta.

The McLarens were next with Jenson Button and Sergio Perez finishing in the points on a weekend where the team had been under huge pressure with its host of upgrades.

Toro Rosso driver Dan Ricciardo drove brilliantly to claim 10th and strengthen his position with the Red Bull organisation.

At the start Vettel fired into second into first turn splitting the Mercedes pair of Rosberg and Hamilton.

Soon after Alonso moved into third in a mega move around the outside which proved to be a pivotal moment in the 66-lap race.

By lap 36 Alonso pitted for a third time to take on medium compound rubber when he returned to the action in second place behind Raikkonen.

The race remained in the balance however on lap 39, Alonso swept past Raikkonen into turn one to regain the lead and it soon became clear that Lotus had to produce something special on their three-stop strategy.

Alonso would make his final stop 16 laps from the finish to take on hard rubber where he continued his flawless display to win comfortably.


Pos Driver Car/Engine Laps Time
1 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 66 1h 39:16.596
2 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus/Renault 66 23:20:43.
3 Felipe Massa Ferrari 66 23:20:43.
4 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull/Renault 66 23:20:43.
5 Mark Webber Red Bull/Renault 66 23:20:43.
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 66 23:20:43.
7 Paul Di Resta Force India/Mercedes 66 23:20:43.
8 Jenson Button McLaren/Mercedes 66 23:20:43.
9 Sergio Pérez McLaren/Mercedes 66 23:20:43.
10 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso/Ferrari 65 1 Lap
11 Esteban Gutiérrez Sauber/Ferrari 65 1 Lap
12 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 65 1 Lap
13 Adrian Sutil Force India/Mercedes 65 1 Lap
14 Pastor Maldonado Williams/Renault 65 1 Lap
15 Nico Hülkenberg Sauber/Ferrari 65 1 Lap
16 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Renault 65 1 Lap
17 Charles Pic Caterham/Renault 65 1 Lap
18 Jules Bianchi Marussia/Cosworth 64 2 Laps
19 Max Chilton Marussia/Cosworth 64 2 Laps
20 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso/Ferrari 52 Retirement
21 Giedo van der Garde Caterham/Renault 21 Retirement
22 Romain Grosjean Lotus/Renault 8 Retirement

Standings after Round 5

 1 Sebastien Vettel 89
 2 Kimi Raikkonen 85
 3 Fernando Alonso 72
 4 Lewis Hamilton 50
 5 Felipe Massa 45
 6 Mark Webber 42
 7 Paul di Resta 26
 8 Romain Grosjean 26
 9 Nico Rosberg 22
10 Jenson Button 17
11 Sergio Perez 12
12 Dan Ricciardo  7
13 Adrian Sutil  6
14 Nico Hulkenberg  5
15 Jean-Eric Vergne  1




Comments are closed.