Kurt Busch sizzles to pole at Darlington

Kurt Busch

Kurt Busch

Fresh from his special IndyCar test at the Brickyard Kurt Busch has produced a record lap to storm to the pole for the Darlington Sprint Cup race.

Busch recorded a 181.918mph lap around the 1.366mile track to topple the previous mark set by Kasey Kahne two years ago.

The #78 Furniture Row Racing Chevrolet driver took the top spot from Sprint Cup points leader Jimmie Johnson in a Hendrick Motorsport Chevrolet.

Kyle Busch will start third in the Joe Gibbs Toyota with Kahne fourth and Martin Truex jr fifth.

Comeback driver Denny Hamlin qualified sixth ahead of Matt Kenseth and Jeff Gordon, a Darlington specialist, in eighth.

Aussie Marcos Ambrose will start from 24th in the Richard Petty Motorsports Ford.

 Darlington qualifying

 1 Kurt Busch Furniture Row  27.032s
 2 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Chevrolet  27.173s
 3 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Toyota  27.181s
 4 Kasey Kahne Hendrick Chevrolet  27.208s
 5 Martin Truex Jr Waltrip Toyota  27.277s
 6 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Toyota  27.296s
 7 Matt Kenseth Joe Gibbs Toyota  27.303s
 8 Jeff Gordon Hendrick Chevrolet  27.304s
 9 Greg Biffle Roush Fenway Ford  27.320s
10 Kevin Harvick Childress Chevrolet  27.355s
11 Jeff Burton Childress Chevrolet  27.368s
12 Juan Pablo Montoya Earnhardt Ganassi   Chevrolet  27.376s
13 Clint Bowyer Waltrip Toyota 27.381s
14 Ricky Stenhouse Jr Roush Fenway Ford 27.394s
15 Paul Menard Childress Chevrolet 27.401s
16 Dale Earnhardt Jr Hendrick Chevrolet 27.410s
17 Carl Edwards Roush Fenway Ford 27.472s
18 Aric Almirola Petty Ford 27.500s
19 Casey Mears Germain Ford 27.501s
20 Tony Stewart Stewart-Haas Chevrolet 27.511s
21 Ryan Newman Stewart-Haas Chevrolet 27.550s
22 Mark Martin Waltrip Toyota 27.578s
23 Bobby Labonte JTG Daugherty Toyota 27.593s
24 Marcos Ambrose Petty Ford 27.630s
25 Jamie McMurray Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet 27.631s
26 Brad Keselowski Penske Ford 27.633s
27 Regan Smith Phoenix Chevrolet 27.635s
28 Travis Kvapil BK Toyota 27.669s
29 David Gilliland Front Row Ford 27.676s
30 Joey Logano Penske Ford 28.681s
31 David Ragan Front Row Ford 27.682s
32 Landon Cassill Circle Sport Chevrolet 27.736s
33 David Reutimann BK Toyota 27.775s
34 Josh Wise Front Row Ford 27.835s
35 Michael McDowell Parsons Ford 27.837s
36 Scott Speed Leavine Ford 27.884s
37 Dave Blaney Baldwin Chevrolet 27.954s
38 Mike Bliss Humphrey Smith Toyota 27.961s
39 David Stremme Swan Toyota 27.981s
40 Danica Patrick Stewart-Haas Chevrolet 28.014s
41 Timmy Hill FAS Lane Ford 28.080s
42 JJ Yeley Baldwin Chevrolet 28.083s
43 Joe Nemecheck NEMCO Toyota 28.315s






Comments are closed.