Whincup survives off-track excursion to take Race 12

Jamie Whincup celebrates victory

Jamie Whincup celebrates victory

Jamie Whincup made the most of a late-race restart to snatch victory from team-mate Craig Lowndes in the final race of the weekend at Barbagallo.

Whincup made it back-to-back race wins despite losing the lead with a trip through the Turn 7 gravel trap on Lap 15 of 42 after slipping on coolant dropped by Maro Engel’s Mercedes.

Whincup pitted for new tyres the lap after his incident, eventually emerging from the pitstop cycle second to team-mate Lowndes.

The Saturday winner looked to have the race under control before running wide on the second of two Safety Car restarts with just 11 laps to go, allowing Whincup through.

The Red Bull pair were separated by 1.6s at the flag, with third-placed Jason Bright a further four seconds adrift in fourth after struggling in the closing stages.

Will Davison, David Reynolds, Shane van Gisbergen, Fabian Coulthard, James Moffat, Garth Tander and debutant Chaz Mostert completed the top 10.

Mark Winterbottom also speared off the road with Whincup early on, subsequently dropping to a low of 21st with a slow pitstop.

He recovered to 12th by the flag, split by the Fujitsu GRM Holdens of Alexandre Premat and Scott McLaughlin, who ran as high as the top five before losing a door and much of his speed in the closing stages.

David Wall and Russell Ingall ended their races in the Turn 7 sand trap – causing the second Safety Car.

The first full course yellow had been required to recover Michael Caruso’s Nissan from Turn 7 after it lost a wheel on his out-lap a short time earlier.

At the time of his departure, Caruso had been battling with team-mate James Moffat, who eventually finished a strong eighth.

Lee Holdsworth was the first Mercedes home in 14th after Engel and Tim Slade both had their races hampered by early damage.

See below for the full Race 12 result

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 41 46:16.0085
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 41 46:17.5809
3 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 41 46:21.6949
4 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 41 46:22.1276
5 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 41 46:23.4351
6 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 41 46:23.6382
7 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 41 46:25.5754
8 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 41 46:26.7127
9 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 41 46:27.2771
10 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 41 46:28.4160
11 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 41 46:29.0953
12 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 41 46:29.1489
13 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 41 46:31.0417
14 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 41 46:31.5329
15 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 41 46:32.7510
16 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 41 46:32.7855
17 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 41 46:33.5736
18 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 41 46:33.9549
19 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 41 46:34.6546
20 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 41 46:35.5097
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 41 46:36.0146
22 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 41 46:36.8737
23 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 41 46:47.6709
24 HHA Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 36 46:46.4887
DNF Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 26 29:07.8761
DNF Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 26 29:08.2440
DNF Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 17 16:45.9015
DNF SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG  7 16:06.5720

See below for the updated points standings

1 Jamie Whincup 958
2 Will Davison 893
3 Craig Lowndes 843
4 Jason Bright 797
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 720
6 Fabian Coulthard 712
7 Garth Tander 689
8 James Courtney 674
9 Mark Winterbottom 666
10 Scott McLaughlin 589
11 Jonathon Webb 558
12 Alex Davison 523
13 James Moffat 513
14 David Reynolds 486
15 Russell Ingall 473
16 Rick Kelly 468
17 Alexandre Premat 451
18 Tony D’Alberto 428
19 Dean Fiore 415
20 Lee Holdsworth 374
21 David Wall 338
22 Michael Caruso 336
23 Tim Blanchard 328
24 Tim Slade 310
25 Scott Pye 274
26 Todd Kelly 245
27 Maro Engel 197
28 Jonny Reid 149
29 Chaz Mostert 132

Comments are closed.