Red Bull Racing locks out Race 12 front-row

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup has led a Red Bull Racing Australia front-row lock-out for Race 12 of the V8 Supercars Championship at Barbagallo.

Conserving tyres proved the story of the second 15 minute session, with Whincup languishing down in 24th before putting in what would prove to be his pole lap with 90 seconds remaining.

Whincup’s time of 55.25s undercut previous fast-man Lowndes by just 0.0037s.

Mark Winterbottom, Fabian Coulthard and Scott McLaughlin completed the top five – all three lapping within a tenth of the pole time.

Alex Davison, Will Davison, David Reynolds, Shane van Gisbergen and David Wall filled sixth through 10th.

Race 11 pole-sitter Jason Bright will start just 12th after a broken gearstick stopped the Team BOC Holden after just one lap.

Stand-out rookie Chaz Mostert repeated his Race 11 qualifying effort of 11th.

The Mercedes AMGs were led by Lee Holdsworth and fill 13th through 15th, while James Moffat was again the fastest Nissan, albeit down in 20th.

Alexandre Premat rounded out the field, completing just one lap after spending much of the 15 minutes in the garage with the bonnet up on his Fujitsu GRM Holden.

See below for the full Race 12 qualifying result

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 0:55.2455*
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 0:55.2492 0:00.0037
3 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 0:55.3093 0:00.0638
4 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 0:55.3119 0:00.0664
5 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 0:55.3230 0:00.0775
6 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:55.3568 0:00.1113
7 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:55.3651 0:00.1196
8 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 0:55.4214 0:00.1759
9 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 0:55.4741 0:00.2286
10 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 0:55.5086 0:00.2631
11 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 0:55.5197 0:00.2742
12 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 0:55.6303 0:00.3848
13 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 0:55.6537 0:00.4082
14 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 0:55.6914 0:00.4459
15 HHA Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 0:55.7062 0:00.4607
16 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 0:55.7114 0:00.4659
17 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 0:55.7115 0:00.4660
18 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 0:55.7192 0:00.4737
19 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 0:55.7650 0:00.5195
20 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 0:55.7853 0:00.5398
21 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 0:55.7942 0:00.5487
22 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 0:55.8160 0:00.5705
23 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 0:55.8267 0:00.5812
24 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 0:55.9117 0:00.6662
25 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 0:55.9538 0:00.7083
26 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 0:56.0447 0:00.7992
27 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 0:56.0690 0:00.8235
28 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 0:57.6048 0:02.3593

Comments are closed.