Rain cancels qualifying at Talladega

Rained out. Talladega starting order determined by first practice

Rained out. Talladega starting order determined by first practice

Persistent rain has prevented any chance of qualifying being staged at Talladega with Carl Edwards to start from the front by virtue of his practice time.

The starting line-up for the Aaron’s 499 will be determined according to NASCAR rules with Edwards setting the quickest lap in the opening practice session.

The #99 Roush Fenway Ford though does not win the Coors Light Pole Award.

It is the first time Edwards has started off the front since the Daytona 500 last year.

Joining him at the front will be Martin Truex jr in the Waltrip Toyota with Australian Marcos Ambrose starting from third as he tries to turn around his recent misfortunes in the Richard Petty Motorsports Ford.

“We were all driving like idiots out there in that first practice knowing it was probably gonna rain today and we just sort of had to get a run and try to make something happen,” said Ambrose.

“You always eliminate a lot of accidents if you can stay at the front like that, so our plan tomorrow is to drive aggressive all day and try to stay up there. We know that track position is gonna be a big thing for everybody even though it’s a plate race.

“There were definitely more runs yesterday, I thought, than what there was at Daytona as far as the cars getting more speed to make things happen out there, so I think it’s gonna be a great race.”

Next in the starting order will be Joey Logano and Ryan Newman.

The rain began falling at the Alabama track on Friday night and persisted right up until the qualifying which was scheduled just over midday on Saturday.

Comeback driver Denny Hamlin will start from seventh in his first race since California on March 24, one spot ahead of points leader Jimmie Johnson.

The Penske driver Brad Keselowski was the fastest in final practice but will be forced to start from 11th with NASCAR rules stipulating the field must be set based on opening practice results.

It was the second time this season Sprint Cup qualifying had to be abandoned following a similar occurrence at Texas in March.

Talladega starting order

 1 Carl Edwards  Roush Fenway Ford
 2 Martin Truex jr  Waltrip Toyota
 3 Marcos Ambrose  Petty Ford
 4 Joey Logano  Penske Ford
 5 Ryan Newman  Stewart-Haas Chevrolet
 6 Matt Kenseth  Joe Gibbs Toyota
 7 Denny Hamlin  Joe Gibbs Toyota
 8 Jimmie Johnson  Hendrick Chevrolet
 9 Jeff Gordon  Hendrick Chevrolet
10 Kasey Kahne  Hendrick Chevrolet
11 Brad Keselowski    Penske Ford
12 Dale Earnhardt jr  Hendrick Chevrolet
13 Kyle Busch  Joe Gibbs Toyota
14 Michael Waltrip  Waltrip Toyota
15 Trevor Bayne  Wood Brothers Ford
16 Paul Menard  Childress Chevrolet
17 Greg Biffle  Roush Fenway Ford
18 Aric Almirola  Petty Ford
19 David Ragan
20 Clint Bowyer  Waltrip Toyota
21 Ricky Stenhouse jr  Roush Fenway Ford
22 Casey Mears  Germain Ford
23 Danica Patrick  Stewart-Haas Chevrolet
24 Kevin Harvick  Childress Chevrolet
25 Tony Stewart  Stewart-Haas Chevrolet
26 Josh Wise  Front Row Ford
27 David Stremme  Swan Toyota
28 Jamie McMurray  Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet
29 Jeff Burton  Childress Chevrolet
30 Juan Pablo Montoya Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet
31 David Gilliland  Front Row Ford
32 Travis Kvapil  BK Toyota
33 Kurt Busch  Furniture Row Chevrolet
34 Regan Smith  Phoenix Chevrolet
35 David Reutiman  BK Toyota
36 Scott Speed  Leavine Ford
37 Terry Labonte  FAS Lane Ford
38 MIchael McDowell  Parsons Ford
39 Boddy Labonte  JTG Daugherty Toyota
40 Dave Blaney  Baldwin Chevrolet
41 Joe Nemechek  NEMCO-JRR Toyota
42 Landon Cassill  Circle Sport Chevrolet
43 JJ Yeley  Baldwin Chevrolet



Comments are closed.