Perkins fends off Miedecke for Race 2 victory

Perkins leads Miedecke into Turn 1

Perkins leads Miedecke into Turn 1

Jack Perkins has sustained heavy pressure from George Miedecke to take victory in the reverse top 10 grid Race 2 for the Dunlop Series at Barbagallo.

Perkins, who has returned to the series this weekend in an ex-Tekno Autosports Holden recently purchased by Eggleston Motorsport, made the best of the starts from second on the grid to lead pole-sitter Miedecke into Turn 1.

The duo were separated by less than a second for the entire 18 lap journey, with Miedecke twice drawing alongside his rival to no avail.

Andrew Jones and Paul Morris held their starting positions of third and fourth respectively throughout the race, crossing the line nose-to-tail three seconds adrift of the winner.

Race 1 victor Ash Walsh moved from 10th to an eventual finishing position of fifth in just six laps, while Daniel Gaunt, Dale Wood, Taz Douglas, Drew Russell and Steve Owen completed the top 10.

Starting from 29th after his failure to finish on Saturday, Owen had steadily picked his way through the field throughout the race.

Casey Stoner started and finished 21st after a mistake on just the third lap dropped the Red Bull-Pirtek Holden back to a low of 28th.

Another in trouble was front-runner Kristian Lindbom, who fell off the road at Turn 7 while battling for fifth with Walsh on Lap 6.

A second incident late in the going ensured the Evans Motorsport Ford took the flag one place behind Stoner in 22nd.

Cameron Waters also had a bad run, taking 23rd after a poor start and a mid-race incident.

The third and final Dunlop Series race of the weekend will get underway at 1615 local time.

See below for the full Race 2 result

1 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE 18 17:49.6082
2 I Seek George Miedecke Ford Falcon FG 18 17:50.2744
3 Advam Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 18 17:52.4131
4 Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE2 18 17:52.7550
5 Infants Friend Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 18 17:57.3324
6 Global Security Management Daniel Gaunt Holden Commodore VE2 18 17:59.6421
7 GB Galvanizing/Wilson Security Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 18 17:59.8554
8 Arvo – Image Racing Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 18 18:02.0783
9 Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon FG 18 18:02.7894
10 Sherrin Rentals MWM Steve Owen Ford Falson FG 18 18:02.9893
11 Rodney Jane Racing Gary Jacobson Ford Falcon FG 18 18:06.7056
12 Miraflores Estate Harbour Exca Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 18 18:08.5855
13 Tony D’Alberto Racing Nick McBride Ford Falcon FG 18 18:09.0130
14 Brad Jones Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 18 18:10.2061
15 Rodney Jane Racing Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 18 18:10.9274
16 R&J Batteries/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 18 18:11.1284
17 CEG Rentals Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 18 18:13.6890
18 Finance Ezi Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 18 18:14.3482
19 Finance Ezi Racing Josh Hunter Ford Falocon FG 18 18:15.4303
20 Blackchrome Sports & Workwear Sam Walter Holden Commodore VE2 18 18:16.1755
21 Triple Eight Race Engineering Casey Stoner Holden Commodore VE2 18 18:19.8110
22 Ozstaff Racing Kristian Lindbom Ford Falcon FG 18 18:20.4646
23 Linde Material Handling Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE2 18 18:23.3291
24 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 18 18:26.7225
25 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 18 18:27.9822
26 Poll Performance Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE 18 18:35.7818
27 Freightliner Aaron Tebb Holden Commodore VE2 18 18:42.3857
28 Pacific Hoists & Hitachi Nandi Kiss Holden Commodore VE 18 18:45.4556
29 Gulf Western Oil Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 17 17:58.5886

Comments are closed.