Walsh wins Race 1 as Owen and Stoner tangle

Stoner and Owen tangled on the opening lap

Stoner and Owen tangled on the opening lap

Ash Walsh has officially taken the lead of the Dunlop Series by recording an authoritative victory in Race 1 of Round 2 at Barbagallo.

Walsh led every one of the 18 laps, pulling a two second margin on the pursuing Dale Wood before a late Safety Car closed down his advantage.

The race restarted with three laps to go, with Walsh able to put a full second on Wood over the restart lap before holding that advantage to the flag.

Walsh’s only real scare had come at the first corner, where the right-rear of his Matt Stone Racing Ford made contact with the left-front of Steve Owen’s entry as the pair disputed the top spot.

Owen slowed immediately after the contact and was soon clipped by the passing Casey Stoner on the run to Turn 4.

Stoner rejoined at the rear of the field, eventually finishing 21st, while Owen would take no further part in proceedings.

Kristian Lindbom started from fifth after a two-place grid penalty for a practice indiscretion, and proved the biggest mover in the early part of the race, passing first Cameron Waters and then Taz Douglas to eventually finish third behind Wood.

Douglas held on for fourth ahead of Daniel Gaunt and a struggling Waters, while Paul Morris, Andrew Jones, Jack Perkins and George Miedecke completed the top 10.

The late Safety Car was called to retrieve Andre Heimgartner’s Finance Ezi Ford from the Turn 1 gravel trap. The Kiwi had made contact with fellow Ford driver Nick McBride prior to leaving the circuit.

Miedecke will start Race 2 from pole tomorrow under the reverse top 10 format.

Team-mate Walsh, meanwhile, will attempt to soldier through from 10th with a reduced bank of rubber after damaging two tyres in qualifying.

See below for the full Race 1 result

1 Infants Friend Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 21:56.4667 0:58.1684*
2 GB Galvanizing/Wilson Sec. Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 21:57.5654 0:58.5750
3 Ozstaff Racing Kristian Lindbom Ford Falcon FG 21:58.0564 0:58.7642
4 Arvo – Image Racing Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 22:00.1637 0:58.7614
5 Global Security Management Daniel Gaunt Holden Commodore VE2 22:01.0124 0:58.8358
6 Linde Material Handling Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE2 22:02.2255 0:58.9087
7 Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE2 22:02.5953 0:58.7600
8 Advam Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 22:03.0638 0:59.1082
9 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE 22:03.5243 0:59.0920
10 I Seek George Miedecke Ford Falcon FG 22:04.1121 0:59.1718
11 Rodney Jane Racing Gary Jacobson Ford Falcon FG 22:04.4530 0:58.8995
12 Brad Jones Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 22:04.5732 0:59.2002
13 Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon FG 22:04.7554 0:59.5140
14 Miraflores Estate Harbour Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 22:05.2037 0:59.6011
15 Tony D’Alberto Racing Nick McBride Ford Falcon FG 22:05.8803 0:59.2420
16 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 22:06.7632 0:59.5033
17 Rodney Jane Racing Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 22:07.1055 0:59.4130
18 R&J Batteries/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 22:07.5497 0:59.3909
19 CEG Rentals Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 22:07.9542 0:59.5842
20 Finance Ezi Racing Josh Hunter Ford Falocon FG 22:08.8090 0:59.6284
21 Triple Eight Race Engineering Casey Stoner Holden Commodore VE2 22:09.1110 0:59.3082
22 Blackchrome Sports & Workwear Sam Walter Holden Commodore VE2 22:09.8550 0:59.7087
23 Gulf Western Oil Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 22:10.6067 0:59.8046
24 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 22:11.2728 1:00.6241
25 Poll Performance Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE 22:14.3602 1:00.6246
26 Pacific Hoists & Hitachi Nandi Kiss Holden Commodore VE 22:15.4323 1:00.5906
27 Finance Ezi Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 22:12.6152 0:59.6071
DNF Freightliner Aaron Tebb Holden Commodore VE2 11:30.3405 1:00.5398
DNF Sherrin Rentals MWM Steve Owen Ford Falson FG  1:36.7576
DNF Resi Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2


Comments are closed.