Holden teams set the pace in Barbagallo Practice 2

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

In form Holden teams Red Bull Racing Australia, Brad Jones Racing and Fujitsu GRM have filled the top places in the first full field practice session of the day at Barbagallo.

Jamie Whincup proved just 0.0045s quicker than Fabian Coulthard, with the duo setting their best times in quick succession at the halfway mark of the 30 minute hit-out.

Coulthard had spent much of the opening 15 minutes in the pits after reporting an engine problem on his out lap.

The Lockwood Holden jumped immediately to the top upon returning to the track, although continued to operate without a working dash for the duration.

Practice 1 pace-setter Scott McLaughlin was third fastest from the BJR Holdens of Jason Bright and David Wall.

Will Davison, Alexandre Premat, Craig Lowndes, Alex Davison and Tony D’Alberto completed the top 10, with debutant Chaz Mostert a promising 11th.

As usual, the times were polluted by differing tyre quality, with both hard and soft compound pre-marked tyres allowed in the two set practice allocation.

Those towards the tail of the field included the three Walkinshaw Racing entries of James Courtney (23rd), Garth Tander (26th) and Russell Ingall (28th.

A third and final 30 minute practice session will take place from 1315 local time.

See below for the full Practice 2 result

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 0:56.3712
2 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 0:56.3757 0:00.0045
3 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 0:56.4274 0:00.0562
4 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 0:56.4441 0:00.0729
5 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 0:56.4754 0:00.1042
6 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:56.5412 0:00.1700
7 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 0:56.5748 0:00.2036
8 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 0:56.6141 0:00.2429
9 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:56.6234 0:00.2522
10 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 0:56.6323 0:00.2611
11 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 0:56.6503 0:00.2791
12 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 0:56.6674 0:00.2962
13 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 0:56.7084 0:00.3372
14 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 0:56.8047 0:00.4335
15 HHA Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 0:56.8825 0:00.5113
16 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 0:57.0166 0:00.6454
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 0:57.0427 0:00.6715
18 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 0:57.0451 0:00.6739
19 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 0:57.0581 0:00.6869
20 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 0:57.0803 0:00.7091
21 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 0:57.2043 0:00.8331
22 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 0:57.3441 0:00.9729
23 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 0:57.4622 0:01.0910
24 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 0:57.4723 0:01.1011
25 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 0:57.5872 0:01.2160
26 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 0:57.8978 0:01.5266
27 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 0:58.1577 0:01.7865
28 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 0:58.2524 0:01.8812


Comments are closed.