Matt Kenseth claims all Joe Gibbs front-row at Richmond

Matt Kenseth takes the pole at Richmond

Matt Kenseth takes the pole at Richmond

Matt Kenseth has claimed the fastest time in qualifying for the Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond, Virginia.

Kenseth completed a Joe Gibbs Racing shut-out, turning a 20.716s lap with Brian Vickers, standing in for the injured Denny Hamlin, second in 20.721.

The pole lap came two days after NASCAR imposed heavy penalties on Kenseth and his crew chief for irregularities with his engine following his Kansas win last weekend.

At Richmond Kenseth responded in the best way possible with JGR claiming the fastest two spots ahead of Hendrick driver Jeff Gordon (20.729s) with his team-mate Kasey Kahne starting beside him in fourth.

Richard Petty Motorsports driver Marcos Ambrose had a decent qualifying run to turn 20.839s and will start from 11th place.

“It was pretty good. I left a little bit out there,” Ambrose said.

“All these guys are gonna get much better track conditions than what we had. We had a big pick-up from practice and that’s all I can ask from my DeWalt team. I’m pretty happy with how our car feels as the sun comes off the racetrack so hopefully tomorrow night we will be just fine.”

QUALIFYING – Richmond Toyota Owners 400 

Pos Driver Team/Car                     Time     Gap
 1 Matt Kenseth Joe Gibbs Toyota 20.716s
 2 Brian Vickers Joe Gibbs Toyota 20.721s   + 0.005s
 3 Jeff Gordon Hendrick Chevrolet 20.729s   + 0.013s
 4 Kasey Kahne Hendrick Chevrolet 20.740s   + 0.024s
 5 Clint Bowyer Waltrip Toyota 20.744s   + 0.028s
 6 Juan Pablo Montoya Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet 20.793s   + 0.077s
 7 Joey Logano Penkse Ford 20.808s   + 0.092s
 8 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Toyota 20.828s   + 0.112s
 9 Martin Truex jr Waltrip Toyota 20.834s   + 0.118s
10 Mark Martin Waltrip Toyota 20.837s   + 0.121s
11 Marcos Ambrose Petty Ford 20.839s   + 0.123s
12 Ricky Stenhouse jr Roush Fenway Ford 20.841s   + 0.125s
13 Jamie McMurray Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet 20.844s   + 0.128s
14 Kurt Busch Furniture Row Chevrolet 20.862s   + 0.146s
15 Ryan Newman Stewart-Haas Chevrolet 20.868s   + 0.152s
16 Jeff Burton Childress Chevrolet 20.870s   + 0.154s
17 Kevin Harvick Childress Chevrolet 20.871s   + 0.155s
18 Dave Blaney Baldwin Chevrolet 20.883s   + 0.167s
19 Dale Earnhardt jr Hendrick Chevrolet 20.900s   + 0.184s
20 David Ragan Front Row Ford 20.904s   + 0.188s
21 Tony Stewart Stewart-Haas Chevrolet 20.912s   + 0.196s
22 David Reutimann BK Toyota 20.912s   + 0.196s
23 Brad Keselowski Penske Ford 20.925s   + 0.209s
24 AJ Allmendinger Phoenix Chevrolet 20.944s   + 0.228s
25 David Stremme Swan Toyota 20.961s   + 0.245s
26 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Chevrolet 20.966s   + 0.250s
27 Josh Wise Front Row Ford 20.972s   + 0.256s
28 Carl Edwards Roush Fenway Ford 20.975s   + 0.259s
29 Paul Menard Childress Chevrolet 20.976s   + 0.260s
30 Danica Patrick Stewart-Haas Chevrolet 20.979s   + 0.263s
31 Landon Cassill Circle Sport Chevrolet 20.982s   + 0.266s
32 Bobby Labonte JTG Daugherty Toyota 20.994s   + 0.278s
33 Greg Biffle Roush Fenway Ford 21.009s   + 0.293s
34 Aric Almirola Petty Ford 21.036s   + 0.320s
35 Michael McDowell Parsons Ford 21.085s   + 0.369s
36 Travis Kvapil BK Toyota 21.101s   + 0.385s
37 David Gilliland Front Row Ford 21.113s   + 0.397s
38 Mike Bliss Humphrey Smith Toyota 21.179s   + 0.463s
39 JJ Yeley Baldwin Chevrolet 21.336s   + 0.620s
40 Casey Mears Germain Ford 21.360s   + 0.644s
41 Joe Nemechek NEMCO-JRR Toyota 21.448s   + 0.732s
42 Timmy Hill FAS Lane Ford 21.481s   + 0.765s
43 Brian Keselowski Keselowski Toyota 21.818s   + 1.102s







Comments are closed.