Marc Màrquez becomes youngest ever MotoGP race winner

Màrquez flanked by Pedrosa and Lorenzo on an all-Spanish podium

Màrquez flanked by Pedrosa and Lorenzo on an all-Spanish podium

Twenty-year-old Spaniard Marc Màrquez has become the youngest ever winner of a MotoGP race after fending off team-mate Dani Pedrosa in the Red Bull Grand Prix of the Americas.

In just his second ever weekend as a MotoGP rider, the Moto2 graduate had dominated from the outset, topping practice before becoming the youngest ever premier class pole-sitter.

Pedrosa was able to lead much of the race before Màrquez slipped by just after half distance.

The more experienced Spaniard stalked his younger rival for the remainder of the going, but lost valuable tenths just three laps from home, leaving the winning margin at a relatively comfortable 1.5s.

Màrquez now jointly leads the championship with Qatar winner Jorge Lorenzo, who was a further two seconds adrift of Pedrosa in third.

Satellite Yamaha rider Cal Crutchlow scored a strong fourth after getting the better of eventual fifth place finisher Stefan Bradl.

Valentino Rossi failed to muster the sort of form he showed in Qatar on his way to sixth ahead of Andrea Dovizioso, Alvaro Bautista, Nicky Hayden and Andrea Iannone.

As expected, Aleix Espargaro was too strong in the CRT ranks, finishing 11th outright.

Australian Bryan Starring was 20th and the last of the finishers on the lead lap.

The MotoGP World Championship will continue on May 5 at Jerez, Spain.

See below for the full race result

Pos. Rider Team Bike Time/Gap
1 Marc MARQUEZ Repsol Honda Team Honda 43’42.123
2 Dani PEDROSA Repsol Honda Team Honda +1.534
3 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha +3.381
4 Cal CRUTCHLOW Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +6.616
5 Stefan BRADL LCR Honda MotoGP Honda +12.674
6 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha +16.615
7 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati Team Ducati +22.374
8 Alvaro BAUTISTA GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda +22.854
9 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati Team Ducati +33.773
10 Andrea IANNONE Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Ducati +42.112
11 Aleix ESPARGARO Power Electronics Aspar ART +48.837
12 Bradley SMITH Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +50.705
13 Ben SPIES Ignite Pramac Racing Ducati +1’14.132
14 Randy DE PUNIET Power Electronics Aspar ART +1’15.651
15 Yonny HERNANDEZ Paul Bird Motorsport ART +1’19.591
16 Michael LAVERTY Paul Bird Motorsport PBM +1’34.391
17 Hiroshi AOYAMA Avintia Blusens FTR +1’39.823
18 Hector BARBERA Avintia Blusens FTR +1’39.952
19 Claudio CORTI NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR Kawasaki +1’46.773
20 Bryan STARING GO&FUN Honda Gresini FTR Honda +1’48.084
21 Blake YOUNG Attack Performance Racing APR 1 Lap
DNF Danilo PETRUCCI Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter 8 Laps
DNF Lukas PESEK Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter 8 Laps

See below for the updated points standings




1 Marc MARQUEZ 41
2 Jorge LORENZO 41
3 Dani PEDROSA 33
4 Valentino ROSSI 30
6 Alvaro BAUTISTA 18
7 Andrea DOVIZIOSO 18
8 Nicky HAYDEN 15
9 Andrea IANNONE 13
10 Stefan BRADL 11
11 Aleix ESPARGARO 10
12 Ben SPIES 9
13 Randy DE PUNIET 6
14 Bradley SMITH 4
15 Hector BARBERA 3
16 Yonny HERNANDEZ 3
17 Hiroshi AOYAMA 1

Comments are closed.