White grabs advantage at Targa Tasmania

Jason White is just one day away from his fourth Targa Tasmania title

Jason White is just one day away from his fourth Targa Tasmania title

Jason White is on track to take his fourth victory in Targa Tasmania, after a brilliant drive on the penultimate day saw him increase his lead by more than half a minute across the leg’s 132 competitive kilometres.

The Lamborghini Gallardo driver was outright fastest on five of the day’s eight tarmac stages and now leads by 57 seconds with one day to go, as second placed Steve Glenney, in his Nissan GT-R, struggled to keep pace with his arch rival.

Day four of Targa Tasmania took the field from Strahan to Burnie and back, on the testing roads in the state’s north-west.

Jason White has had anything but a trouble-free event in his Italian supercar, but he still looks the man most likely to hold up the winner’s trophy when the event reaches Hobart on Sunday.

After electrical and differential problems on previous days, fuel problems hampered the Lamborghini on day four, but still White dominated proceedings.

“We had a faulty oxygen sensor which caused fuel to get into the oil, but we fixed that and we’ll give it a full oil change tonight,” White said.

“Other than that we’ve had a good afternoon. We’re happy with our lead at this point.”

The overnight leader in Classic Outright, Greg Garwood, retired his Holden Torana A9X with engine problems late in the day, leaving Craig Haysman (1981 Triumph TR7 V8) and Donn Todd (1971 Ford Capri Perana) separated by just 32 seconds, fighting it out for victory on the run to Hobart on the final day.

Television personality, Grant Denyer, is the leader of the Showroom competition in his Renault Megane RS 250.

The fifth and final day of the 22nd Targa Tasmania will see the remaining competitors leave Strahan and head for Hobart over six tarmac stages. The day includes the longest stage of the event, the 58.55 kilometre Mt Arrowsmith test, before the finish at Hobart’s Wrest Point on Sunday afternoon.

Video highlights from the day

Targa Tasmania – provisional results after Day 4 of 5

RDA Brakes Modern 

Position Crew Car Time
1 Jason White/John White 2011 Lamborghini Gallardo Super Trofeo Stradale Leader
2 Steve Glenney/Bernie Webb 2009 Nissan GT-R Spec-V +0:57
3 Matt Sims/Denis Sims 2013 Nissan GT-R +5:41
4 Frank Purdey/Cameron Reeves 2009 Nissan GT-R +7:59
5 Jim Richards/Barry Oliver 2011 Porsche 911 GT2 RS +8:15


Shannons Classic Outright 

Position Crew Car Time
1 Craig Haysman/Neil Branum 1981 Ford Perana Capri Leader
2 Donn Todd/ Dean Tighe 1971 Ford Perana Capri +0:32
3 John Ireland/Michael Ribot 1977 Porsche 911 Carrera 3 +1:14
4 Paul Stuart/Mick Herrod 1973 Porsche 911 Carrera RS +12:37
5 Paul Freestone/Christine Freestone 1948 Holden 215 +14:39


RDA Brakes Showroom 2WD 

Position Crew Car Time
1 Grant Denyer/Dale Moscatt 2011 Renault Megane RS 250 Leader
2 Bunjamin Noor/Lee Challoner-Miles 2011 Renault Megane RS 250 +11:07
3 Nick Strange/Ian Cudmore 2012 Renault Megane RS 250 +14:06


Comments are closed.