White regains Targa Tasmania lead

Jason White is back out in front

Jason White is back out in front

Jason White has once again stamped his authority on Targa Tasmania with an impressive drive that has seen him regain the lead on day three of the five-day epic rally.

The Lamborghini Gallardo driver started the day with a 17 second deficit to the Nissan GT-R of Steve Glenney, but by the end of the day’s second stage he was back in front, and finished the day with a handy 13 second lead.

Adelaide’s Matt Sim is now third in his Nissan GT-R after Matt Close was forced to withdraw with mechanical troubles. Eight-time Targa winner, Jim Richards, moved up to fourth in his Porsche and eyeing another podium finish.

“Today’s gone well and I don’t think we’ve lost too much time with the troubles we’ve been having,” White said.

“I think sometimes when you have problems like that it causes frustration, which spurs you to drive faster than you normally would.”

In Classic Outright, overnight leader, Hobart’s Peter O’Keefe (Holden Torana A9X), was forced out with a broken gearbox, handing the lead to the six-time champion Rex Broadbent.

But the Porsche driver crashed out of the event on the final stage handing the lead to Greg Garwood, also in a Torana.

The leaderboard in the RDA Brakes Showroom changed late in the day when Adam Spence had an off, handing the lead to the Renault Megane RS 250 of, Grant Denyer.

Day four of Targa Tasmania see competitors tackling a further eight stages from Strahan, up to Burnie and back.

Video highlights from the day

Targa Tasmania – provisional results after Day 3

RDA Brakes Modern 

Position Crew Car Time
1 Jason White/John White 2011 Lamborghini Gallardo Super Trofeo Stradale Leader
2 Steve Glenney/Bernie Webb 2009 Nissan GT-R Spec-V +0:13
3 Matt Sims/Denis Sims 2013 Nissan GT-R +3:37
4 Jim Richards/Barry Oliver 2011 Porsche 911 GT2 RS +4:50
5 Frank Purdey/Cameron Reeves 2009 Nissan GT-R +5:10


Shannons Classic Outright 

Position Crew Car Time
1 Greg Garwood/John Allen 1977 Holden Torana A9X Leader
2 Craig Haysman/Neil Branum 1981 Ford Perana Capri +2:36
1 Donn Todd/ Dean Tighe 1971 Ford Perana Capri +3:47
3 John Ireland/Michael Ribot 1977 Porsche 911 Carrera 3 +4:31
4 Steve McClintock/Jann Skinner 1985 Mazda RX7 +8:23


RDA Brakes Showroom 2WD 

Position Crew Car Time
1 Grant Denyer/Dale Moscatt 2011 Renault Megane RS 250 Leader
2 Bunjamin Noor/Lee Challoner-Miles 2011 Renault Megane RS 250 +7:24
3 Nick Strange/Ian Cudmore 2012 Renault Megane RS 250 +9:47


Comments are closed.