Jamie Whincup on pole for Race 8

Jamie Whincup and Mark Winterbottom share front row for Race 8

Jamie Whincup and Mark Winterbottom share front row for Race 8. Pic: Neville Bailey

Red Bull champion Jamie Whincup scorched his way to pole position for Race 8 of the ITM 400 Auckland meeting at Pukekohe Park.

Whincup unleashed a flurry late in the 15-minute session to post a 1:02.7001s lap, a fraction ahead of Mark Winterbottom’s Ford Performance Racing Falcon (1:02.7917s).

The outcome has set the stage for Whincup and Winterbottom to resume their hostilities from Race 7.

Brad Jones Racing Commodore star Fabian Coulthard held the top berth inside the last 10 minutes and was the first driver to dip under the 1:03s barrier.

The double race winner from Symmons Plains will start from third alongside HRT driver James Courtney.

The Race 6 winner Scott McLaughlin produced a 1:02.9825s lap in his GRM Fujitsu Commodore and will start from seventh position.

V8 SUPERCARS: Qualifying Race 8 – Pukekohe 

Position Driver Team Time
1  Jamie Whincup Red Bull Racing Australia 1:02.7001
2  Mark Winterbottom Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford +0.0916
3  Fabian Coulthard Lockwood Racing +0.1209
4  James Courtney Holden Racing Team +0.2359
5  Will Davison Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford +0.2384
6  Alexandre Premat Fujitsu Racing GRM +0.2690
7  Scott McLaughlin Fujitsu Racing GRM +0.2824
8  Shane van Gisbergen TEKNO Team VIP +0.3432
9  Craig Lowndes Red Bull Racing Australia +0.3654
10  Alex Davison Jeld-wen FPR Ford +0.4922
11  David Reynolds The Bottle-O FPR Ford +0.5438
12  Jason Bright Team BOC +0.5509
13  Garth Tander Holden Racing Team +0.5615
14  James Moffat Norton 360 Racing +0.6016
15  Rick Kelly Jack Daniel’s Racing +0.6283
16  Dean Fiore Dodo Insurance Racing +0.6509
17  Jonathon Webb Tekno Autosports +0.6682
18  Michael Caruso Norton 360 Racing +0.7046
19  Russell Ingall Supercheap Auto Racing +0.7332
20  Todd Kelly Jack Daniel’s Racing +0.8052
21  Tony D’Alberto Team HIFLEX +0.8600
22  Tim Blanchard Wilson Security Racing +0.8754
23  Lee Holdsworth IRWIN Racing +0.8837
24  Tim Slade Heavy Haulage Australia Racing +0.9353
25  David Wall Wilson Security Racing +0.9630
26  Maro Engel SP Tools Racing +1.0883
27  Jonny Reid Wilson Security Racing +1.2714


Comments are closed.