Whincup secures Race 6 pole

Jamie Whincup fastest in Shootout for Race 6

Jamie Whincup fastest in Shootout for Race 6

Jamie Whincup has spoiled a perfect qualifying day for Fabian Coulthard by snatching pole for Race 6 at Pukekohe Park.

Whincup was the last car out in the top 10 Shootout and managed to eclipse the time Coulthard had estimated a few minutes earlier with a 1:02.7600s flyer.

The Brad Jones Racing Holden driver Coulthard had posted a 1:02.8832s lap easily registering the fastest time of the previous eight cars in the single lap session.

Mark Winterbottom will start Race 6 from third after posting a 1:03.0138s lap.

Coulthard’s team-mate Jason Bright will start on the second row after finishing the Shootout with the fourth fastest time in 1:03.0468s ahead of Scott McLaughlin with the GRM racer doing a fabulous job to clock 1:03.2060s.

Craig Lowndes’ hot lap went awry when he outbraked himself into the new chicane and will start from 10th.

However he will be promoted one spot with Garth Tander who finished the shootout eighth quickest relegated to 10th after his practice breach yesterday.

Coulthard had earlier claimed the pole position for Race 7.

V8 SUPERCARS: Top-10 Shootout – Pukekohe 

Position Driver Team Time
1 Jamie Whincup  Red Bull Racing Australia 1:02.7600
2 Fabian Coulthard  Lockwood Racing +0.1232
3 Mark Winterbottom  Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford +0.2538
4 Jason Bright  Team BOC +0.2868
5 Scott McLaughlin  Fujitsu Racing GRM +0.4460
6 Shane van Gisbergen  TEKNO Team VIP +0.5583
7 Alexandre Premat  Fujitsu Racing GRM +0.5838
8 Garth Tander  Holden Racing Team +0.6323
9 David Reynolds  The Bottle-O FPR Ford +0.9441
10 Craig Lowndes  Red Bull Racing Australia +1.8449




Comments are closed.