Jamie Whincup shakes bogey to win Race 7

Jamie Whincup wins Race 7 at Pukekohe

Jamie Whincup wins Race 7 at Pukekohe

V8 Supercars powerhouse Jamie Whincup survived a last lap scare to win his first race of the season in the ITM 400 Auckland at Pukekohe Park.

Whincup had been holding off the advances of Mark Winterbottom who was launching a late race assault when both speared off over the back of the circuit.

Winterbottom made contact with Whincup when he lunged at the Commodore driver however stewards have not launched any investigation into the incident.

“I had seen Whincup make a few mistakes over that side of the track earlier and knew that was my real chance of grabbing the lead. We had better race pace toward the end and I had to give it a shot,” Winterbottom told Speedcafe.

The Red Bull Racing driver managed to rejoin without any harm however Winterbottom fared less favourably and wound up 13th after challenging for the win in the closing corners.

Winterbottom’s Ford Performance Racing team-mate Will Davison finished second ahead of Holden Racing Team spearhead Garth Tander.

Polesitter Fabian Coulthard was in the mix for the majority of the race but had a 10s penalty added to his time and was classified in 10th place.

The safety car was deployed just passed the halfway mark of the 35-lap heat after an incident involving Shane van Gisbergen (VIP Petfoods Commodore), Jason Bright (BOC Commodore) and James Courtney (HRT Commodore) going into the first corner.

Courtney ended up buried in the sand trap with his race ending after 18 laps while van Gisbergen soldiered on to finish sixth with Bright fourth.

The seventh place finish of Rick Kelly was the best of the year for the debutant Nissan Altima with Norton 360 Nissan driver James Moffat also claiming a top 10 finish with a ninth place.

V8 SUPERCARS: Race 7 – Pukekohe 

Position Driver Team
1  Jamie Whincup  Red Bull Racing Australia
2  Will Davison  Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford
3  Garth Tander  Holden Racing Team
4  Jason Bright  Team BOC
5  David Reynolds  The Bottle-O FPR Ford
6  Shane van Gisbergen  TEKNO Team VIP
7  Rick Kelly  Jack Daniel’s Racing
8  Alexandre Premat  Fujitsu Racing GRM
9  James Moffat  Norton 360 Racing
10  Fabian Coulthard  Lockwood Racing
11  Jonathon Webb  Tekno Autosports
12  Michael Caruso  Norton 360 Racing
13  Mark Winterbottom  Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford
14  Russell Ingall  Supercheap Auto Racing
15  Alex Davison  Jeld-wen FPR Ford
16  Craig Lowndes  Red Bull Racing Australia
17  David Wall  Wilson Security Racing
18  Todd Kelly  Jack Daniel’s Racing
19  Dean Fiore  Dodo Insurance Racing
20  Tony D’Alberto  Team HIFLEX
21  Maro Engel  SP Tools Racing
22  Jonny Reid  Wilson Security Racing
23  Tim Blanchard  Wilson Security Racing
24  Scott McLaughlin  Fujitsu Racing GRM
25  Lee Holdsworth  IRWIN Racing
26  Tim Slade  Heavy Haulage Australia Racing
DNF  James Courtney  Holden Racing Team

V8 SUPERCARS: Points after Race 7  

Position Driver Points
1  Jamie Whincup  601
2  Will Davison  567
3  Craig Lowndes  489
4  Scott McLaughlin  457
5  James Courtney  440
6  Garth Tander  429
7  Fabian Coulthard  428
8  Shane van Gisbergen  427
9  Mark Winterbottom  414
10  Jason Bright  413
11  Jonathon Webb  407
12  Russell Ingall  352
13  Tony D’Alberto  319
14  Rick Kelly  309
15  James Moffat  277
16  Alex Davison  265
17  Alexandre Premat  263
18  Dean Fiore  261
19  Lee Holdsworth  252
20  David Wall  242
21  Tim Blanchard  239
22  Scott Pye  214
23  David Reynolds  209
24  Michael Caruso  209
25  Tim Slade  174
26  Maro Engel  116
27  Jonny Reid  109
28  Todd Kelly   90

Comments are closed.