Jamie Whincup fastest in Q1

Jamie Whincup quickest in Q1. Pic: Neville Bailey

Jamie Whincup quickest in Q1. Pic: Neville Bailey

Four-times V8 Supercars champion Jamie Whincup has claimed the fastest time in the opening qualifying session for the ITM 400 Auckland at Pukekohe Park.

Whincup shot to the front with a 1:02.5597s lap late in the 15-minute session to go ahead of Fabian Coulthard (1:02.8534s) with Mark Winterbottom third in 1:03.0533s.

GRM driver Alex Premat was the fourth quickest, out-qualifying his start team-mate Scott McLaughlin who claimed the 10th fastest time.

The cars are being prepared for the the second qualifying session also over 15 minutes ahead of a top 10 shootout which will determined the order of the first five rows for the Race 6.

V8 SUPERCARS: Qualifying Race 6 – Pukekohe 

Position Driver Team Time
1 Jamie Whincup  Red Bull Racing Australia 1:02.5597R
2 Fabian Coulthard  Lockwood Racing +0.2937
3 Mark Winterbottom  Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford +0.4936
4 Alexandre Premat  Fujitsu Racing GRM +0.5100
5 Jason Bright  Team BOC +0.5264
6 Craig Lowndes  Red Bull Racing Australia +0.5421
7 Shane van Gisbergen  TEKNO Team VIP +0.5431
8 David Reynolds  The Bottle-O FPR Ford +0.5693
9 Garth Tander  Holden Racing Team +0.5753
10 Scott McLaughlin  Fujitsu Racing GRM +0.5929
11 Will Davison  Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford +0.6328
12 James Courtney  Holden Racing Team +0.6358
13 Jonathon Webb  Tekno Autosports +0.8072
14 Alex Davison  Jeld-wen FPR Ford +0.8097
15 Rick Kelly  Jack Daniel’s Racing +0.8339
16 Tim Blanchard  Wilson Security Racing +0.8443
17 Michael Caruso  Norton 360 Racing +0.8518
18 David Wall  Wilson Security Racing +0.8956
19 Todd Kelly  Jack Daniel’s Racing +0.9218
20 Tony D’Alberto  Team HIFLEX +0.9298
21 Lee Holdsworth  IRWIN Racing +0.9548
22 Russell Ingall  Supercheap Auto Racing +0.9594
23 Dean Fiore  Dodo Insurance Racing +1.0202
24 James Moffat  Norton 360 Racing +1.1067
25 Jonny Reid  Wilson Security Racing +1.3080
26 Maro Engel  SP Tools Racing +1.4120
27 Tim Slade  Heavy Haulage Australia Racing  No Time


Comments are closed.