Hunter-Reay breaks Penske domination at Alabama track

Ryan Hunter-Reay wins in Alabama

Ryan Hunter-Reay wins in Alabama

Ryan Hunter-Reay recorded a thrilling victory in the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama to break a Penske domination of the Barber Motorsports Park circuit.

The reigning IZOD IndyCar series champion Hunter-Reay prevailed after taking the lead inside the last 15 laps of the 90 lap race in round two of the Championship.

Helio Castroneves had held the lead and was on track to give Penske a fourth consecutive win at the circuit before Hunter-Reay swooped.

Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosports) had .6363s to spare to beat Chip Ganassi stalwart Scott Dixon with Castroneves finishing third ahead of Charlie Kimball in a thoroughly entertaining race.

Penske driver Will Power was in the mix however could only manage fifth at a track where he has won the last two IndyCar races and was the only runner in the field to adopt a two-pit stop strategy.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the INDYCAR SERIES. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

After a precarious start to the defence of his title when he was 18th at St Petersburg, Hunter-Reay regained his winning form to score his first victory since the Baltimore race last year.

“”I was driving my tail off trying to stay in front of Dixon,” Hunter-Reay said.

“Will (Power) did a good job staying in front of me on blacks, not sure how he did it.”

The outcome had a dramatic effect on the Championship standings with Hunter-Reay rocketing from 13th to be third in the points behind Castroneves and Dixon.

It was the fourth consecutive time that Dixon has finished runner-up at the Barber circuit.

James Hinchcliffe’s fortunes turned full circle after winning the opening round at St Petersburg, when he broke a wheel on his Andretti Dallara after an incident with Oriol Servia and Graham Rahal on a frantic opening lap.


 1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Dallara-Chevy
 2 Scott Dixon Ganassi Dallara-Honda    + 0.6363s
 3 Helio Castroneves Penske Dallara-Chevy   + 17.6821s
 4 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Dallara-Honda   + 20.6166s
 5 Will Power Penske Dallara-Chevy   + 26.6469s
 6 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Dallara-Honda   + 27.2995s
 7 Marco Andretti Andretti Dallara-Chevy   + 27.7175s
 8 Justin Wilson Coyne Dallara-Honda   + 30.5504s
 9 Josef Newgarden Fisher Dallara-Honda   + 41.1029s
10 Tristan Vautier Schmidt Dallara-Honda   + 50.6449s
11 Alex Tagliani Herta Dallara-Honda   + 58.0458s
12 EJ Viso Andretti Dallara-Chevy + 1m01.4334s
13 Tony Kanaan KV Dallara-Chevy + 1m01.6834s
14 Takuma Sato Foyt Dallara-Honda + 1m03.1151s
15 Oriol Servia Panther/DRR Dallara-Chevy + 1m03.1495s
16 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Dallara-Chevy + 1m07.6880s
17 JR Hildebrand Panther Dallara-Chevy + 1m09.7447s
18 Simona de Silvestro KV Dallara-Chevy + 1m09.9130s
19 AJ Allmendinger Penske Dallara-Chevy + 1m11.0558s
20 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon Dallara-Chevy + 1m14.0385s
21 Graham Rahal Rahal Dallara-Honda + 1m14.0385s
22 Ed Carpenter Carpenter Dallara-Chevy + 1 lap
23 James Jakes Rahal Dallara-Honda + 4 laps
24 Ana Beatriz Coyne Dallara-Honda 65 laps
25 Dario Franchitti Ganassi Dallara-Honda 42 laps
26 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Dallara-Chevy 3 laps

Points after 2 of 19 rounds

1 Hélio Castroneves 79
2 Scott Dixon 70
3 Ryan Hunter-Reay 66
4 Marco Andretti 61
5 James Hinchcliffe 56
6 Charlie Kimball 51
7 Tony Kanaan 49
8 Will Power 47
9 Justin Wilson 46
10 Ernesto Viso 44
11 Simona de Silvestro 40
12 Takuma Sato 40
13 Alex Tagliani 39
14 Simon Pagenaud 34
15 Sébastien Bourdais 33
16 Josef Newgarden 29
17 Tristan Vautier 29
18 Oriol Servià 29
19 Graham Rahal 26
20 Ed Carpenter 24
21 J.R. Hildebrand 24
22 James Jakes 22
23 Sebastian Saavedra 20
24 Ana Beatriz 14
25 A.J. Allmendinger 11
26 Dario Franchitti 10

Comments are closed.