Allerton completes Symmons Plains clean sweep

Glenn Allerton scroed the Symmons sweep

Glenn Allerton scroed the Symmons sweep

Next Gen Motorsports Glenn Allerton has completed a clean sweep of the QBE Australian Superbike Championship class, run in conjunction with the V8 Supercars at the Tasmania Microsoft Office 365.

The BMW rider was the quickest man on track in the morning warm-up, before completing his perfect weekend with a dominating win in this afternoon’s final 16-lap race.

Allerton, who took maximum points from the round, topped every Superbike session held over the weekend.

“I am really happy with today’s race it couldn’t have gone much better other than getting the holeshot,” Allerton said.

“I was behind Robbie off the start but once I got past him I laid down some good laps and got away early.

“This is what we have all been working for. Hopefully we can keep it together and keep building on today’s result,” he added.

Allerton’s only challenge came from Volvo Group Suzuki’s Robbie Bugden, who took the holeshot before relinquishing the race lead to Allerton mid lap.

Team Suzuki’s Wayne Maxwell passed his teammate to finish the race second and now sits 11 points adrift of Allerton in the championship standings.

Team Honda’s Jamie Stauffer and Josh Hook once again rounded out the top five.

CM Racing’s Chas Hern endured another horror day, pulling off on the warm-up lap due to an engine failure.

The teams will now prepare for the next event on the QBE Australian Superbike Championship which will be held at Queensland Raceway on June 14-16.

Australian Superbikes – Race 2

Position Rider Team Bike
1 Glenn Allerton NextGen/Dynotech/Maxima/BMW BMW HP4
2 Wayne Maxwell Team Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R
3 Robert Bugden Team Volvo Group Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R
4 Jamie Stauffer Team Honda Racing/Motologic Honda CBR RR
5 Josh Hook Team Honda Racing/Motologic Honda CBR RR
6 Linden Magee NextGen/Dynotech/Maxima/BMW BMW HP4
7 Beau Beaton Racers Edge Performance/Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R
8 Glenn Scott Team Insure My Ride Racing Honda CBR RR
9 Ben Nicolson NextGen/Dynotech/Maxima/BMW BMW S-RR
10 Ben Henry CUBE Racing Suzuki GSX-R
11 Phil Lovett Central Coast Harley Davidson Kawasaki ZX-10R
12 Kurt Sushames Motors Holden Davenport Suzuki GSX-R
13 Josh King Josh King Yamaha YZF-R1
14 Sophie Lovett Cessnock KTM Kawasaki ZX-10R
15 Shaun Murfet, Shaun Murfet Honda CBR RR
13 Adam Senior City Toyota/Silkolene/Radmix Honda CBR RR


Australian Superbikes – Points

Position Rider Points
1 Glenn Allerton 51
2 Wayne Maxwell 40
3 Robert Bugden 36
4 Jamie Stauffer 34
5 Josh Hook 32
6 Glenn Scott 27
7 Ben Nicolson 27
8 Beau Beaton 26
9 Ben Henry 24
10 Phil Lovett 21
11 Kurt Sushames 18
12 Josh King 18
13 Linden Magee 15
14 Sophie Lovett 13
15 Shaun Murfet, 13
13 Adam Senior 13



Comments are closed.