Tander trumps Whincup in morning practice

Garth Tander's HRT Commodore

Garth Tander’s HRT Commodore

Holden Racing Team driver Garth Tander has set the fastest lap of the weekend so far at Symmons Plains to end the final practice session atop the time sheets.

Tander’s penultimate flier of 51.07s saw the 2007 champion 0.09s quicker than Jamie Whincup, whose best time was set at just the 10 minute mark of the half hour session.

Will Davison and Jonathon Webb secured third and fourth respectively on their final fast laps, while Jason Bright and James Courtney rounded out the top six.

Courtney’s final run didn’t come without casualty however as the #22 Holden suffered a considerable left-front lock-up into Turn 6.

Lee Holdsworth was the star of proceedings in his Erebus Mercedes, ending up seventh, less than 0.23s from the pace.

The IRWIN-backed car made several trips across the Turn 7 exit grass as Holdsworth wrung everything from the underpowered E63.

Fabian Coulthard, Mark Winterbottom and David Reynolds filled eighth through 10th, with Craig Lowndes 11th after running off at Turn 2 and abandoning a run late in the going.

Fellow Adelaide race winner Shane van Gisbergen was also outside the top 10, ending the session 15th after complaining of traffic.

The session finished with Maro Engel’s SP Tools Mercedes stranded in the Turn 4 gravel trap as the chequered flag fell.

James Moffat was the best of the four Nissan Altimas in 19th after enjoying his first run on soft tyres for the weekend.

Team-mates Todd Kelly, Rick Kelly and Michael Caruso filled 23rd through 25th.

Less than one second separated the slowest runner, Jonny Reid, from Tander’s benchmark time, with all cars running softs.

The V8 Supercars will return to the track for qualifying at 1150 local time ahead of Race 3 of the championship at 1445.

See below for the Practice 4 result

1 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 0:51.0729*
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 0:51.1613 0:00.0884
3 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:51.1731 0:00.1002
4 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 0:51.1759 0:00.1030
5 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 0:51.2064 0:00.1335
6 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 0:51.2897 0:00.2168
7 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 0:51.2981 0:00.2252
8 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 0:51.3043 0:00.2314
9 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 0:51.3144 0:00.2415
10 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 0:51.3760 0:00.3031
11 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 0:51.4088 0:00.3359
12 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 0:51.4254 0:00.3525
13 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 0:51.4304 0:00.3575
14 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:51.4312 0:00.3583
15 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 0:51.5648 0:00.4919
16 Heavy Haulage Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 0:51.5720 0:00.4991
17 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 0:51.6151 0:00.5422
18 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 0:51.7130 0:00.6401
19 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 0:51.7600 0:00.6871
20 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 0:51.7751 0:00.7022
21 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 0:51.7835 0:00.7106
22 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 0:51.7929 0:00.7200
23 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 0:51.8028 0:00.7299
24 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 0:51.8319 0:00.7590
25 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 0:51.8655 0:00.7926
26 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 0:51.9704 0:00.8975
27 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 0:51.9925 0:00.9196
28 Wilson Security Racing Jonny Reid Ford Falcon FG 0:52.0576 0:00.9847

Comments are closed.