Glenn Allerton wins Tassie Superbike opener

The podium of Allerton (centre), Maxwell (left) & Bugden

The podium of Allerton (centre), Maxwell (left) & Bugden

BMW rider Glenn Allerton has continued his clean-sweep of the QBE Australian Superbike sessions at Tasmania’s Symmons Plains Raceway, winning today’s 16-lap race ahead of Suzuki teammates Wayne Maxwell and Robbie Bugden.

The action packed opening race was red-flagged on Lap 1, due to an incident at Turn 6 involving CM Racing’s Chas Hern and Team Honda rider Josh Hook.

Hook, who was thrown over the top of his Honda CBR 1000 RR as a result of Hern high-siding, made it back to the grid for the re-start while the Suzuki mounted rider was taken to the medical centre as a precaution.

The re-start provided Allerton with a chance to redeem the race lead after a slow start the first time around. After leading the race from start to finish the Next Gen Motorsports rider said he wasvery happy to take the first race win of the year.

“That was a pretty interesting race, I got the start that I wanted after the red flag and put my head down for two laps to try and build a gap,” Allerton explained.

“After the blow up, there was a fair bit of oil through the sweeper. I had to ride to the conditions and had to back off a fair bit through there.

“I am very happy to be coming away with the first win for the year, it is a good start in the direction the team has been working so hard towards,” Allerton continued.

All eyes were on Team Suzuki’s Wayne Maxwell and Volvo Group Suzuki’s Robbie Bugden who traded blows throughout the race.

Bugden past Maxwell for second on the opening lap but was relegated to third with two laps remaining.

Team Honda teammates Jamie Stauffer and Josh Hook rounded out the top five with BMW privateer Ben Nicolson finishing an impressive sixth.

With smoke pouring from his Next Gen Motorsports BMW S 1000 RR Linden Magee was forced out of the race on Lap 10.

Here are the riders at the podium


Australian Superbikes – Race 1

Position Rider Team Bike
1 Glenn Allerton NextGen/Dynotech/Maxima/BMW BMW HP4
2 Wayne Maxwell Team Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R
3 Robert Bugden Team Volvo Group Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R
4 Jamie Stauffer Team Honda Racing/Motologic Honda CBR RR
5 Josh Hook Team Honda Racing/Motologic Honda CBR RR
6 Ben Nicolson NextGen/Dynotech/Maxima/BMW BMW S-RR
7 Glenn Scott Team Insure My Ride Racing Honda CBR RR
8 Ben Henry CUBE Racing Suzuki GSX-R
9 Beau Beaton Racers Edge Performance/Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R
10 Phil Lovett Central Coast Harley Davidson Kawasaki ZX-10R
11 Josh King Josh King Yamaha YZF-R1
12 Kurt Sushames Motors Holden Davenport Suzuki GSX-R
13 Adam Senior City Toyota/Silkolene/Radmix Honda CBR RR
14 Shaun Murfet, Shaun Murfet Honda CBR RR
15 Sophie Lovett Cessnock KTM Kawasaki ZX-10R

Comments are closed.