Red Bull and BJR assert authority in Practice 2

Jamie Whincup's Red Bull Holden

Jamie Whincup’s Red Bull Holden

Red Bull Racing Australia and Brad Jones Racing locked out the top four places in Practice 2 at Symmons Plains, the first full-field V8 Supercars session of the weekend.

Red Bull duo Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes monopolised the number one position across the 30 minutes, with Whincup eventually emerging fastest with a 51.5974s effort.

Fabian Coulthard’s best had the Lockwood Holden 0.0026s adrift in second, with Lowndes and Jason Bright just fractions further back in third and fourth respectively.

Bright was the only one of the quartet to improve on his final run, bumping Practice 1 pace-setter Mark Winterbottom to fifth in the process.

James Courtney, Garth Tander, Jonathon Webb, Russell Ingall and Shane van Gisbergen completed the top 10.

The session was punctuated by two red flag periods, both called for dramas with the Erebus Mercedes E63s.

The first stoppage came at the eight minute mark and allowed officials to retrieve Tim Slade’s #47 entry from the Turn 4 gravel.

An off from team-mate Lee Holdsworth, still struggling with the electric power steering issues he encountered in Practice 1, brought a second brief halt to proceedings at the halfway mark.

See below for the full Practice 2 result

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 0:51.5974
2 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 0:51.6000 0:00.0026
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 0:51.6333 0:00.0359
4 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 0:51.7464 0:00.1490
5 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 0:51.7771 0:00.1797
6 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 0:51.8833 0:00.2859
7 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 0:51.9064 0:00.3090
8 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 0:51.9220 0:00.3246
9 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 0:51.9282 0:00.3308
10 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 0:51.9703 0:00.3729
11 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 0:52.0389 0:00.4415
12 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 0:52.1092 0:00.5118
13 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 0:52.1753 0:00.5779
14 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 0:52.2526 0:00.6552
15 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 0:52.4507 0:00.8533
16 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 0:52.4769 0:00.8795
17 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 0:52.6070 0:01.0096
18 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:52.6368 0:01.0394
19 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 0:52.6860 0:01.0886
20 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:52.7137 0:01.1163
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 0:52.7214 0:01.1240
22 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 0:52.7566 0:01.1592
23 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 0:52.8496 0:01.2522
24 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 0:52.9411 0:01.3437
25 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 0:52.9688 0:01.3714
26 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 0:53.0272 0:01.4298
27 Heavy Haulage Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 0:53.2539 0:01.6565
28 Wilson Security Racing Jonny Reid Ford Falcon FG 0:53.5015 0:01.9041

Comments are closed.