Lowndes leads Holden whitewash in Symmons Plains practice

Craig Lowndes' Red Bull Holden

Craig Lowndes’ Red Bull Holden

Craig Lowndes has made the perfect start to a potentially record setting weekend for the Red Bull Holden driver by clocking the fastest time in Friday practice at Symmons Plains

The 38-year-old, who will take the all-time win record from Mark Skaife if he can score a victory in any of the three races this weekend, set the quickest time of the day after the chequered flag fell in Practice 3.

Lowndes’ 51.38s effort saw the #888 Holden jump from sixth to the top of the order.

Lowndes’ team-mate Jamie Whincup and Brad Jones Racing’s Fabian Coulthard were second and third respectively having also found themselves at the top during various stages of the final minute.


Standout rookie Scott McLaughlin was fourth after setting his best time midway through the 30 minutes.

A red flag following an incident between Maro Engel and Michael Caruso at the Turn 4 hairpin had set-up the final flurry of fast times, with the field turned green again with just four minutes remaining.

The Red Bull Holdens had both appeared from pitlane with new soft compound tyres moments before the red flags flew.

James Courtney and Jason Bright were fifth and sixth at session’s end respectively, ensuring Holden drivers locked out the top half dozen places.

Mark Winterbottom completed a solid day’s work in seventh ahead of Alexandre Premat, Dean Fiore and Scott Pye.

Several at the bottom of the order, including the Norton Nissans of James Moffat and Michael Caruso and the Dick Johnson Racing Fords of Tim Blanchard and Jonny Reid, ran only on the hard compound tyres today.

A fourth and final practice session will take place tomorrow morning ahead of qualifying.

See below for the Practice 3 result

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 0:51.3794
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 0:51.4449 0:00.0655
3 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 0:51.5363 0:00.1569
4 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 0:51.6007 0:00.2213
5 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 0:51.6110 0:00.2316
6 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 0:51.6589 0:00.2795
7 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 0:51.7853 0:00.4059
8 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 0:51.7861 0:00.4067
9 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 0:51.7922 0:00.4128
10 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 0:51.7923 0:00.4129
11 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 0:51.7986 0:00.4192
12 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:51.8022 0:00.4228
13 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 0:51.8682 0:00.4888
14 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 0:51.8863 0:00.5069
15 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 0:51.9009 0:00.5215
16 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 0:51.9057 0:00.5263
17 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 0:51.9170 0:00.5376
18 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 0:51.9399 0:00.5605
19 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 0:52.0535 0:00.6741
20 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:52.0818 0:00.7024
21 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 0:52.1107 0:00.7313
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 0:52.2310 0:00.8516
23 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 0:52.3319 0:00.9525
24 Heavy Haulage Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 0:52.7704 0:01.3910
25 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 0:52.9247 0:01.5453
26 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 0:52.9446 0:01.5652
27 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 0:53.0563 0:01.6769
28 Wilson Security Racing Jonny Reid Ford Falcon FG 0:53.3489 0:01.9695

Comments are closed.