Will Power on pole for IndyCar opener


Pole number #4 for Will Power at St Petersburg

Pole number #4 for Will Power at St Petersburg

Will Power has scored his fourth-straight pole position for the season opening IndyCar race on the streets of St Petersburg in Florida.

While the Toowoomba driver’s form was anticipated, the others at the head of the field did supply some surprises.

The Team Penske driver posted a best lap of 1 minute, 1.2070 seconds in the 10-minute Firestone Fast Six session that culminated three rounds of knockout qualifications for the IZOD IndyCar Series race.

“Good start to the year,” said Power after winning his 30th pole.

“I thought qualifying was going to be very tight. It’s very tight on new tyres but we made a few changes for the last run and it was good to see some new people up there.

“It’s always like that in IndyCar. You can never predict what’s going to happen. We don’t know who is going to win, but that is the excitement of it. (We’ve) never had so much depth in the field of drivers.”

Making his 50th start, Takuma Sato will share the front row on his debut for Indy legend A.J. Foyt. Simona de Silvestro carried her practice form into qualifying with third fastest for KV Racing Technology.

“It’s really cool to finally get the results we wanted,” said de Silvestro.

“Thanks to KV Racing Technology for giving me the opportunity. And the whole Nuclear Clean Air Energy campaign to be supporting me after the year we had last year. It’s unbelievable.

James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport), will start fourth while three-time and defending race winner Helio Castroneves (Team Penske).

Defending IndyCar champion Ryan hunter-Reay will start eighth, while Ganassi Racing’s Dario Franchitti will start 10th. Even worse for Kiwi Scott Dixion who was 20th.

Here are the qualifying highlights

QUALFIYING: IndyCar Grand Prif of St Petersburg

Position  Driver               Team/Car                 Time      
1  Will Power           Penske : Chevrolet 1:01.2070
2  Takuma Sato  Foyt : Honda 1:01.5776
3  Simona de Silvestro  KV : Chevrolet 1:01.7670
4  James Hinchcliffe  Andretti : Chevrolet 1:01.8229
5  Helio Castroneves  Penske : Chevrolet 1:01.8991
6  Tristan Vautier  Schmidt : Honda 1:02.0645
7  Marco Andretti  Andretti : Chevrolet 1:01.6883
8  Ryan Hunter-Reay  Andretti : Chevrolet 1:01.7339
9  Sebastian Saavedra  Dragon : Chevrolet 1:01.7944
10  Dario Franchitti  Ganassi : Honda 1:01.8150
11  Tony Kanaan  KV : Chevrolet 1:01.9139
12  Oriol Servia  Panther/DRR : Chevrolet 1:02.1483
13  Justin Wilson  Coyne : Honda 1:02.2177
14  Charlie Kimball  Ganassi : Honda 1:02.1198
15  Graham Rahal  Rahal : Honda 1:02.2709
16  Josef Newgarden  Fisher : Honda 1:02.1592
17  Alex Tagliani  Herta : Honda 1:02.3328
18  James Jakes  Rahal : Honda 1:02.1658
19  Simon Pagenaud  Schmidt : Honda 1:02.4736
20  Scott Dixon Ganassi : Honda 1:02.1715
21  Sebastien Bourdais Dragon : Chevrolet 1:02.6537
22  EJ Viso Andretti : Chevrolet 1:02.1986
23  Ed Carpenter Carpenter : Chevrolet 1:02.6634
24  JR Hildebrand Panther : Chevrolet 1:02.3179
25  Ana Beatriz Coyne : Honda 1:03.2551


Comments are closed.