Ricciardello and Hossack set stage for new Sports Sedan season

Ricciardello leads Baily through Turn 7

Ricciardello leads Baily through Turn 7

Traditional Kerrick Sports Sedan Series rivals Tony Ricciardello and Darren Hossack appear set for another tight battle this season, with the pair split by less than a tenth of a second in qualifying for the opening round.

Ricciardello’s Alfa GTV proved just 0.08s faster than Hossack’s Audi A4 around the 3.9km Sydney Motorsport Park layout, earning the former pole position.

The leading duo both recorded their fastest times in the first of two 20 minute sessions, while Chevrolet Camaro driver Shane Bradford improved from 10th to third in the second hit-out.

Reigning series winner Kerry Baily (Aston Martin DBR9) will share the second row with Bradford , with Daniel Tamasi (Holden Calibra) completing the top five.

The Sports Sedans are one of six categories in action at the Shannons Nationals event this weekend.

The Kumho V8 Touring Car Series, Radical Australia Cup, Saloon Car Series, PRB Clubman Series and Superkart Championships all enjoyed their opening races during the afternoon.

CLICK HERE for Speedcafe.com’s report on Race 1 of the Kumho V8 Touring Car Series

Neale Muston continued to prove the benchmark in the Radical class, taking the win by almost five seconds from fellow SR8 runner Ash Samadi.

Another reigning series winner, Simon Tabinor, showed the way in the Saloon Cars, beating fellow Holden driver Gavin Ross to the flag.

Chris Barry and Russell Jamieson took out the PRB Clubman and Superkart races respectively.

Former Australian Football League star Jason Akermanis finished last of the classified runners in 28th in the Superkart race.

Round 1 of the 2013 Shannons Nationals will conclude with a full day of racing action tomorrow.

Comments are closed.